Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    148
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How to copy Meta Tag Information when copying products?

    Quote Originally Posted by kobra View Post
    Your site will then be ranked for having duplicate content
    You may hate it, but these are the facts that the SE's use, especially Google
    Since the 'stock by attrib' also fails for us (Fez site) we are also doing the one item category, with the six+ sizes as individual products, which means the same item with just a different size/model and the duplicate meta's haven't hurt us. Oh sure, we're extreme niche... (look up 'fez hat' ) but we're not even being dinged in the google feeder for dup info.

    I did just upgrade to .9h and did a reinstall of the 'stock by attrib' and it still wasn't good... (for us) so I am looking forward then to v2.0... it'll cut down on a lot of manual time.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Brighton/Hove/Sussex
    Posts
    144
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How to copy Meta Tag Information when copying products?

    Quote Originally Posted by kobra View Post
    You should not be duplicating this meta data so as not to be slapped for "duplicate" by the SE's
    Even if similar, make this unique
    With any similar item there is an amount thats the same, then there is the item description that different, its the base same parts that is annoying to have to copy over, rather than an edit.

    This table used, is far easier to edit after a duplicate than writing it from scratch. The left side is always the same but right side is unique! I think for my example that there is enough UNIQUE data to be different for each image.
    Got it folks...
    -------------------------------------
    REMOVED TABLE GIBBERISH HERE
    Editor wont show the example table in here...
    -------------------------------------
    The duplicated meta;
    Photograph,Detail,Descriptions,library,database,Reorder,Type,Grade,Dated,Registr ation,Fleet,New,Chassis,Body,View,First Operator,Operator,livery,Route,View,Notes

    The unique meta;
    DT005,9x6,DT/STT,d/d,bus,2,1958+,RV6358,5,1935,Leyland,Titan,TD4,Leyland Titan,English,Electric,H26/24R,English Electric,fns,CPPTD,Sea,Front,Service,Sea Front Service,
    H26/22R,rebuilt,1953,fleet#5,1958,w1971
    Last edited by Dinnages; 7 Jan 2011 at 09:11 AM. Reason: REMOVED TABLE GIBBERISH
    Original store was 1.39:- TransportPostcards.co.uk/shop (redirecting out)
    Working on a fresh new store... 1.56a TransportPostcards.co.uk/store
    Appreciate Zen-Cart? - Always keep a banner link on your shop

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: How to copy Meta Tag Information when copying products?

    Dinnages,
    Is what you posted meta keywords or meta description?

    If the latter, do these appear in your human readable text?
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    78
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How to copy Meta Tag Information when copying products?

    I agree, I would like to be able to copy the meta tags as well as description.
    I do about 6 or 7 different items all for animal breeds.
    The base meta tag is the same in 6 or 7 instances, but the breed names and colours are different.
    It's taking ages to copy and paste each one in and no, I don't think I'd be hit for duplicate keywords as each lot of keywords is essentially different.

    Roll on V2.0

    jen

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: How to copy Meta Tag Information when copying products?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jenvin
    and no, I don't think I'd be hit for duplicate keywords as each lot of keywords is essentially different.
    Not if you copy them...
    A copy is an identical copy
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    78
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: How to copy Meta Tag Information when copying products?

    I agree Kobra, but after it has copied, I would just need to go in and change the breed. The rest of it would already be there.
    It would still save a heap of time.

    Jen

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gijón, Asturias, Spain
    Posts
    2,595
    Plugin Contributions
    30

    Default copy meta tags when duplicating a product

    I did this to admin/includes/modules/copy_to_confirm.php:

    change
    PHP Code:
                  $description->MoveNext();
                }

                
    $db->Execute("insert into " TABLE_PRODUCTS_TO_CATEGORIES 
    to
    PHP Code:
                  $description->MoveNext();
                }
    //BOF steve to copy meta tags to duplicate product            
    $metatags $db->Execute("select language_id, metatags_title, metatags_keywords, metatags_description 
    from " 
    TABLE_META_TAGS_PRODUCTS_DESCRIPTION 
    where products_id = '" 
    . (int)$products_id "'");
                while (!
    $metatags->EOF) {
                  
    $db->Execute("insert into " TABLE_META_TAGS_PRODUCTS_DESCRIPTION "
                                            (products_id, language_id, metatags_title, metatags_keywords, metatags_description)
                                values ('" 
    . (int)$dup_products_id "',
                                        '" 
    . (int)$metatags->fields['language_id'] . "',
                                        '" 
    zen_db_input($metatags->fields['metatags_title']) . "',
                                        '" 
    zen_db_input($metatags->fields['metatags_keywords']) . "',
                                        '" 
    zen_db_input($metatags->fields['metatags_description']). "')");
                  
    $metatags->MoveNext();
                }
    //EOF steve to copy meta tags to duplicate product    
                
    $db->Execute("insert into " TABLE_PRODUCTS_TO_CATEGORIES 
    Seems to work ok.
    Steve
    github.com/torvista: Spanish Language Pack, Google reCaptcha, Structured Data, Multiple Copy-Move-Delete, Image Checker, BackupMySQL Admin/Auto...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    15
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: copy meta tags when duplicating a product

    Quote Originally Posted by torvista View Post
    I did this to admin/includes/modules/copy_to_confirm.php:

    change
    PHP Code:
                  $description->MoveNext();
                }

                
    $db->Execute("insert into " TABLE_PRODUCTS_TO_CATEGORIES 
    to
    PHP Code:
                  $description->MoveNext();
                }
    //BOF steve to copy meta tags to duplicate product            
    $metatags $db->Execute("select language_id, metatags_title, metatags_keywords, metatags_description 
    from " 
    TABLE_META_TAGS_PRODUCTS_DESCRIPTION 
    where products_id = '" 
    . (int)$products_id "'");
                while (!
    $metatags->EOF) {
                  
    $db->Execute("insert into " TABLE_META_TAGS_PRODUCTS_DESCRIPTION "
                                            (products_id, language_id, metatags_title, metatags_keywords, metatags_description)
                                values ('" 
    . (int)$dup_products_id "',
                                        '" 
    . (int)$metatags->fields['language_id'] . "',
                                        '" 
    zen_db_input($metatags->fields['metatags_title']) . "',
                                        '" 
    zen_db_input($metatags->fields['metatags_keywords']) . "',
                                        '" 
    zen_db_input($metatags->fields['metatags_description']). "')");
                  
    $metatags->MoveNext();
                }
    //EOF steve to copy meta tags to duplicate product    
                
    $db->Execute("insert into " TABLE_PRODUCTS_TO_CATEGORIES 
    Seems to work ok.
    I know this is very old tread, but quite long time I looked for such a solution. Thank you torvista. Sometimes I receive similar products but for different clubs, so, its much easier just to change club name and leave the rest as is, than every time insert all metatags. So it's works very well for me in 1.5.1 but with one little issue. In new product, after copying, product meta name, title, model, price and tagline are disabled, and you have to every time tick the radio buttons to enable them. Is it the way to make them enabled by default? Thank you.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,740
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: copy meta tags when duplicating a product

    If not mistaken need to include the applicable status flag for each of those fields as true (1) which I think are the same as the above three fields, but. With _status added to the end of each applicable name..m Not sure, it's something that is a part of EasyPopulate V4 but I don't use that field routinely enough to know/remember the full name.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    15
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: copy meta tags when duplicating a product

    Quote Originally Posted by mc12345678 View Post
    If not mistaken need to include the applicable status flag for each of those fields as true (1) which I think are the same as the above three fields, but. With _status added to the end of each applicable name..m Not sure, it's something that is a part of EasyPopulate V4 but I don't use that field routinely enough to know/remember the full name.
    Thank you for replay. Found solution by playing with statuses in admin/includes/modules/product/collect_info_metagags.php . Here is example:
    PHP Code:
    // metatags_title_status shows

        
    if (empty($pInfo->metatags_keywords) and empty($pInfo->metatags_description)) $pInfo->metatags_title_status zen_get_show_product_switch($_GET['pID'], 'metatags_title_status');

        switch (
    $pInfo->metatags_title_status) {

          case 
    '0'$is_metatags_title_status true$not_metatags_title_status false; break;

          case 
    '1'$is_metatags_title_status true;  $not_metatags_title_status false; break;

          default:  
    $is_metatags_title_status true;  $not_metatags_title_status true;

        } 

 

 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Duplicate and Missing Meta Tag Information
    By websightdesign in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19 Jun 2007, 07:37 PM
  2. Meta-Tag Information Help
    By TheFurrFactor in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26 May 2007, 07:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR