Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default Visible Stock levels using Attributes

    Hello, When using attributes I'm wondering if there is a way to allow the actual stock quantaties to be visible to the customer to save them adding an out of stock item? Obviously I could delete that particular variant but doing that makes for a lot of work with a large stock level!

    Here's an example of mine http://www.thefairtradefaerie.co.uk/...roducts_id=196 and this is an example of what I'm wanting to achieve

    Rose Dust [0 in stock]
    Spring Crocus [2 in stock]
    Royal Lilac [2 in stock]
    Raspberry Sorbet [0 in stock]
    Aurora Red [3 in stock]
    Chili Pepper [3 in stock]
    Bluebell [0 in stock]
    Agate Green [4 in stock]
    Shitake [3 in stock]
    Daiquiri Green [3 in stock]

    Sorry it's long winded, but I'm new to all this....
    Susie
    The Fair Trade Faerie
    http://www.thefairtradefaerie.co.uk
    Version 1.3.8a Sagefish Template

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fishers, IN
    Posts
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Visible Stock levels using Attributes

    I have the EXACT same question! All I can say is this should be easier to figure out considering how basic a demand it is.
    There are 3 types of people in this world... Those who can count, and those who can't.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    10,655
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Visible Stock levels using Attributes

    This question has been done to death in the Stock by Attributes support thread, where are references to a solution for the single attribute case that SusieTFTF gives as an example.

    Once you move beyond a single attribute per product ... well being basic and being easy aren't necessarily the same thing!
    See and test drive Zen Cart's free templates at zencarttemplates.info

    Kuroi Web Design and Development | Twitter

    (Questions answered in the forum only - so that any forum member can benefit - not by personal message)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fishers, IN
    Posts
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Visible Stock levels using Attributes

    I believe I've found the answer here:

    http://www.zen-cart.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=310

    Done to death, yes... Still a patch and not a cart fix though.
    There are 3 types of people in this world... Those who can count, and those who can't.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Visible Stock levels using Attributes

    Quote Originally Posted by lawrance View Post
    I believe I've found the answer here:

    http://www.zen-cart.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=310

    Done to death, yes... Still a patch and not a cart fix though.
    Many thanks Lawrence, I have this already, and in back end admin works fine. What I'm after is a visible stock level in my actual shop front. I have spent a long while reading the attribute support thread, and the zen book but it's very difficult for a beginner to browse through hundreds of replies in one thread/topic to find an answer when you're actually unsure of the correct wording to the question and the answers are not obvious . This is a better example of what I want to achieve http://www.scotiafairtrade.com/raw-s...am-p-3942.html

    Susie
    Last edited by SusieTFTF; 14 Jun 2009 at 08:24 AM.
    The Fair Trade Faerie
    http://www.thefairtradefaerie.co.uk
    Version 1.3.8a Sagefish Template

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Visible Stock levels using Attributes

    Quote Originally Posted by SusieTFTF View Post
    Many thanks Lawrence, I have this already, and in back end admin works fine. What I'm after is a visible stock level in my actual shop front. I have spent a long while reading the attribute support thread, and the zen book but it's very difficult for a beginner to browse through hundreds of replies in one thread/topic to find an answer when you're actually unsure of the correct wording to the question and the answers are not obvious . This is a better example of what I want to achieve http://www.scotiafairtrade.com/raw-s...am-p-3942.html

    Susie
    Hi I'm afraid I can't helpbut what you are attepting is fantastic and if you get an answer I would love to hear it to

  7. #7

    Default Re: Visible Stock levels using Attributes

    Quote Originally Posted by SusieTFTF View Post
    Many thanks Lawrence, I have this already, and in back end admin works fine. What I'm after is a visible stock level in my actual shop front. I have spent a long while reading the attribute support thread, and the zen book but it's very difficult for a beginner to browse through hundreds of replies in one thread/topic to find an answer when you're actually unsure of the correct wording to the question and the answers are not obvious . This is a better example of what I want to achieve http://www.scotiafairtrade.com/raw-s...am-p-3942.html

    Susie
    Hi there. I'm the owner of the website you've referenced. I have the Stock by Attributes module installed (can't remember which version) and I found out how to display attribute stock quantities from the following post:

    http://www.zen-cart.com/forum/showpo...&postcount=485

    It's a little complicated but the post has all the instructions you need to show stock levels for products that have single attributes with multiple values (don't know about multiple attributes). It will work for dropdowns (see http://www.scotiafairtrade.com/natur...ks-p-3700.html) as well as radio buttons.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Selling accessories using attributes, but managing stock levels too
    By edwinlloyd in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23 Jun 2008, 01:55 PM
  2. out of stock showing on item with no stock levels - help
    By redgirl in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27 Oct 2007, 07:21 AM
  3. Stock by attributes show stock levels placement error
    By fradesigns in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17 Oct 2007, 01:14 AM
  4. No stock levels needed or stock required
    By StoryBook in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29 Jun 2007, 05:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •