Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    33
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Database Upgrade-Can I preserve product URLs?

    Hi

    Hoping someone may be able to help please.

    We have transferred our old 1.2.7 site to a new host. Unfortunately this isn't working due to the mysql 5 compatability problem.

    We are now planning on doing a fresh 1.3.8a install but would like to preserve the database and product URls if possible.

    I have a copy of the 1.2.7 database installed on the new host, so is it possible to keep the old product URLs? If so how?

    Many thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,512
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Database Upgrade-Can I preserve product URLs?

    Sounds like you are using a SEO URL module
    You should see if that mod is compatible with 1.3.x or if there is an updated version for best chances
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    33
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database Upgrade-Can I preserve product URLs?

    Hi

    Thanks for the fast response.

    We aren't using an SEO mod, but we would like to preserve the URLs as we have a high position in the search engines! Is this possible?

    Thank you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,512
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Database Upgrade-Can I preserve product URLs?

    They will IF you also move the domain to the new host
    Your ranking is linked to a domain name
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    33
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database Upgrade-Can I preserve product URLs?

    Hello Kobra

    Thanks for your help.

    Have also moved the domain name to the new host, so am I correct in thinking that if I do a fresh install of 1.3.8a and then update the 1.2.7 database that the URLs will remain the same?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    33
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database Upgrade-Can I preserve product URLs?

    Hi

    Sorry, don't know if I explained myself correctly. Basically if you do a search for a specific product, at present we rank very highly on google. These searches are returning a blank page though at present as the site is down due to the move to the new host.

    If possible we would like to keep the URLs the same so that we don't lose our position in the search engines.

    Hope that explains a bit better!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,512
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Database Upgrade-Can I preserve product URLs?

    Quote Originally Posted by kobra
    They will IF you also move the domain to the new host
    Without getting too technical - - this is a sample

    /index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_4&products_id=1

    In the DB a product is in a category and possibly a sub-cat and is represented with "cPath=1_48"
    A product is also in the DB with an ID - "products_id=1"

    These will not change upon upgrade

    Besides, what choice do you have?
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. 1 database - multiple URLs
    By m4tty in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12 Aug 2008, 06:00 PM
  2. Multiple URLs one database / admin?
    By JohneeMac in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9 Oct 2007, 01:55 PM
  3. two URLS- Same Database - Want to Customize each! HELP
    By lajollaig in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11 Jul 2007, 06:02 AM
  4. languages installed - how to preserve?
    By hareslade in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4 Jun 2007, 02:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •