Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UPstate NY
    Posts
    437
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question bring 1.2.6 database into new 1.3.8 test site??

    How can this be done??

    I can figure out how to back up and save the database.

    All I want to do is bring the 1.2.x database's products, atttributes, prices, etc. into a new 1.3.x database / test site so I don't have to re-key everything.

    New database will likely have a new name.

    Should I use Easy Populate as an export / import tool??

    Thank you, Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    9,956
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: bring 1.2.6 database into new 1.3.8 test site??

    EasyPop will bring in your general product data, but unless you have EasyPop ADVANCED, you will only get attribute names and options, and NOT the relationships these have with individual products.

    You are far better off doing a full UPGRADE of the database, then using export/import to bring the data into the new database.
    Our latest project is Pet Tags.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UPstate NY
    Posts
    437
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Re: bring 1.2.6 database into new 1.3.8 test site??

    Quote Originally Posted by schoolboy View Post
    EasyPop will bring in your general product data, but unless you have EasyPop ADVANCED, you will only get attribute names and options, and NOT the relationships these have with individual products.

    You are far better off doing a full UPGRADE of the database, then using export/import to bring the data into the new database.
    Thank you for answering on EasyPop.

    Some questions on this:
    1. I was really more wondering how I take the actual mySQL database used in the 1.2.x site and import it to the 1.3.8.x site -- the tables containing products, atttributes, etc.
    2. Does this mean that I would install EasyPop on both the 1.2.x and 1.3.x site to do the export/import??

    Could someone please clarify about the upgrade of the database??

    I worked with ZC when it was in 1.2.x phase and I am completely new to 1.3.x.
    What does this mean and where can I find out about this??
    Meanwhile I will check the wiki etc.

    Thank you, Tom
    Last edited by tlyczko; 18 Jan 2010 at 04:42 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,860
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: bring 1.2.6 database into new 1.3.8 test site??

    Dezina ZenCart Templates
    Please do not PM for support queries..Post in forums..help others

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    9,956
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: bring 1.2.6 database into new 1.3.8 test site??

    Misty points you in the right direction...

    Do a FULL UPGRADE of your existing site (code files and database) following the procedure in the tutorial.

    If you try to take short-cuts you will have problems, because the database VERSION is as important as the CODE version (new php, new functions, new processes) - and the CODE and the DBASE must be the same version as each other...

    I would not bother about easy populate, because when your existing store is ALL 1.3.8a, then you can migrate all or parts of it to a store that is all equally 1.3.8a.
    Our latest project is Pet Tags.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UPstate NY
    Posts
    437
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: bring 1.2.6 database into new 1.3.8 test site??

    I will try the tutorial several times, hopefully it will work. :)

    I had the Super Orders mod installed, I cannot recall if it installed custom tables, fields, etc. or not, I will somehow find out, I am sure...

    Thank you, Tom

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Test on sub directory using same database
    By Decostyle in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1 Jul 2008, 12:30 PM
  2. Bring down my site while building?
    By in4sit in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4 Mar 2008, 03:07 PM
  3. Problem Moving Test Site - Switches to test site folder
    By bullseye in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1 Jan 2008, 10:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •