Plugin Contributions

Default help with shipping for a complete novice

hi all
    im new to all this - im a complete novice and am really struggling with shipping costs.
    i have read through numerous threads on this forum about shipping but am starting to go boz-eyed
    ive been working on my side for several days now and am making very slow progress - my site is shirtmasters.co.uk

im based in uk and want to ship my items worldwide.
    ive tried using the zones section but no price is showing when i test a product on my website.
    ive tried just using price per item and shutting off the weight options but still no joy.
    i am wanting to have the following prices:
    recorded uk £3.10 per item then 50p per additional item
    special del uk £6.00 per item then £1 per additional item
    europe £7.50 per item then £1.50 per additional item
    rest of world £9.50 per item then £1.50 per additional item

is there anyway i can do this simply - bear in mind im a complete novice and dont understand much more than basic jargon.

i hope this doesnt duplicate things too much but like i say ive spent hours reading posts on this forum.
    any help or pointing in the right direction is greatly appreciated
    thanks

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: help with shipping for a complete novice

First question you should ask yourself is:

WHO is going to do the shipping?

Whoever does it for you will charge fees based on a range of formulae and conditions.

In my experience, just "setting up shipping" basing your rates on some arbitrary thumb-suck is a sure-fire way to erode profits...

So... you are UK... SOMEONE (other than you) is going to take your packages and deliver them to your customers. In the UK, this could be Royal Mail / ParcelForce, DHL, FedEx, TNT....

... each one has their own formulae to calculate rates...

In general, however, shipping is based on THREE PARAMETERS:

1. Destination Address (how far away must the packet be sent)