Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Part box / unit stock line setup

    Hi All,

    I'm trying to setup some stock lines so that I can offer pricing for 'part box' quantities & then multiple boxes only. I'm probably missing something obvious somewhere but can't seem to get this to work at all.

    I've tried the 'Config>Stock>Decimal Places' setting to '2' allowing say a quarter of a box (unit) but the cart always errors wanting full unit multiples. E.G.

    Code:
    Stock configs:
    Products Quantity Box Shows:  	  Yes
    Product Qty Minimum: 	 12
    Product Qty Maximum: 	   0 = Unlimited, 1 = No Qty Boxes
    Product Qty Units: 	         48
    Product Qty Min/Unit Mix: No
    With these settings I'd expect to be able to buy either 12, 24, 36 widgets, then 48, 96, 144 etc. but not 60 widgets. Price-quantity details are present in 'Product Price Manager' for 1-47 widgets, 48-96 etc.

    My Zencart is current with all security patches applied:
    Zen Cart 1.3.8a, Patch: 1::
    Database Patch Level: 1.3.8
    v1.3.8 [ date ] (Fresh Installation)

    I am misunderstanding these settings?
    Any pointers appreciated, thanks.

    ZX81

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,493
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Part box / unit stock line setup

    I've tried the 'Config>Stock>Decimal Places' setting to '2' allowing say a quarter of a box (unit) but the cart always errors wanting full unit multiples.
    You have the min set to 12 not 0.25
    Actually if a box is 12 your min should be 3
    Or if you want 12 to be the min and then a increment of 3 allowed

    Make the min 12 and the units 3
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Part box / unit stock line setup

    Hi,
    The unit for this particular example is 48, so, if I understand this correctly, the min should be 12. If I change the min to 0.25 then the cart correctly calculates 0.25*48x1=12 but still errors:
    Code:
    Quantity Units errors -
    You ordered a total of: 12 Min:  0.25 Units:  48
    Same result for 12 min, unit 48.

    What I'm trying to achieve is for 12, 24 or 36 widgets to be placed in the cart at one price, then a reducing price for box/unit quantities only from that point but no further multiples of 12 i.e. 60 widgets.

    It seems to have a problem with a fraction of a unit for some reason. I find the same behavior on a 1.3.7 installation on a different server.

    Rgds,
    zx81

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,493
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Part box / unit stock line setup

    Why is the unit 48 if you will sell 12??
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Part box / unit stock line setup

    Simply because the items are boxed in 48's (for this stock line) & most, but not all, customers buy box quantities. I'm trying to include those who only require a few items, not a full box & who are prepared to pay a price premium to do so. I'd rather not split boxes at all but I don't wish to alienate a customer just because they want a 4 pack of pop instead of a case of 24 for example :)

    Make sense :)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,493
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Part box / unit stock line setup

    Then do not set the unit to 48

    Set up with an attribute your min qty lot and then the box/case qty also as a attribute
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Part box / unit stock line setup

    Yes, I'd already been experimenting with attributes to try to create a work-around unsuccessfully so far.

    Are you saying that fractions of a unit up to one whole unit & then unit multiples only thereafter are not possible with a standard zencart?

    Ideally, an attribute whereby you can offer a discount, if, and only if, the cart sku quantity ordered is divisible by a fixed amount, say 48 in this particular example. Possible?

    Rgds,
    zx81

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,493
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Part box / unit stock line setup

    Are you saying that fractions of a unit up to one whole unit & then unit multiples only thereafter are not possible with a standard zencart?
    What you can not do is setup the product as priced at 1ea with a qty of 48 and be able to buy 12
    Code:
    Stock configs:
    Products Quantity Box Shows:  	  Yes
    Product Qty Minimum: 	 12
    Product Qty Maximum: 	   0 = Unlimited, 1 = No Qty Boxes
    Product Qty Units: 	         48
    Product Qty Min/Unit Mix: No
    48 makes the min allowable 48

    If you want to sell no less than 12
    Code:
    Stock configs:
    Products Quantity Box Shows:  	  Yes
    Product Qty Minimum: 	 12
    Product Qty Maximum: 	   0 = Unlimited, 1 = No Qty Boxes
    Product Qty Units: 	         1
    Product Qty Min/Unit Mix: No
    Then to suggest that a box of 48 be purchased add an attribute "qty" with values like "case" & "dozen" & other desired volumes making your suggested "case" the lowest in sort order and default
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. When attribute is applied, unit in stock is not updating.
    By engel003 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16 Jan 2010, 06:37 PM
  2. I sell unit or a package of 20 unit, How can I control the Stock by Attribute?
    By weber in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23 Apr 2007, 05:53 AM
  3. [NEW ORDER] - Need to change that part of subject line
    By minson in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31 Mar 2007, 11:04 PM
  4. I sell unit or a case of 50 unit, How can I control the Stock by Attribute?
    By weber in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26 Mar 2007, 10:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •