Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    133
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Not seeing the new sidebox

    OK, I found the WIKI page "Creating the new sidebox files".

    I followed the directions, created and populated the following new files with the code supplied:

    includes/modules/sideboxes/orcatools/orcatools_sidebox.php

    includes/languages/english/extra_definitions/orcatools/orcatools_sidebox_defines.php

    includes/templates/orcatools/sideboxes/tpl_orcatools_sidebox.php

    Went to Admin/tools/layout box controller, saw the "new sidebox" notice, and activated it by turning the "left" side on.

    Saved that, reloaded the store, and the sidebox is blank.

    What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Not seeing the new sidebox

    Went to Admin/tools/layout box controller, saw the "new sidebox" notice, and activated it by turning the "left" side on.

    Saved that, reloaded the store, and the sidebox is blank.
    You have a successful sidebox displated...
    What is the code for what should be in the sidebox?
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    133
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Not seeing the new sidebox

    Quote Originally Posted by kobra View Post
    You have a successful sidebox displated...
    What is the code for what should be in the sidebox?
    includes/modules/sideboxes/orcatools/orcatools_sidebox.php:

    Code:
    <?php
     $show_orcatools_sidebox = true;
     if ($show_orcatools_sidebox == true){
       require($template->get_template_dir('tpl_orcatools_sidebox.php',DIR_WS_TEMPLATE,
       $current_page_base,'sideboxes'). '/tpl_orcatools_sidebox.php');
       $title =  BOX_HEADING_NEW_SIDEBOX;
       $left_corner = false;
       $right_corner = false;
       $right_arrow = false;
       require($template->get_template_dir($column_box_default, DIR_WS_TEMPLATE,
       $current_page_base,'common') . '/' . $column_box_default);
     }
    ?>
    includes/languages/english/extra_definitions/orcatools/orcatools_sidebox_defines.php:

    Code:
    <?php
      define('BOX_HEADING_ORCASOUL_SIDEBOX', 'Gallery');
    ?>
    includes/templates/orcatools/sideboxes/tpl_orcatools_sidebox.php:

    Code:
    <?php
     $content = <<< End_Of_Quote
      Enter your sidebox content here
     End_Of_Quote;
    ?>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Not seeing the new sidebox

    <?php
    $content = <<< End_Of_Quote
    Enter your sidebox content here
    End_Of_Quote;
    ?>

    This is not even "dummy" content; it neither has single ' or double " quotes to make it a text string, nor is a valid variable or constant that could hold a text value.

    So $content will be null, and "null" or nothing is being output in the new sidebox.

    You have defined a heading
    define('BOX_HEADING_ORCASOUL_SIDEBOX', 'Gallery');

    but you are still calling for the value of
    $title = BOX_HEADING_NEW_SIDEBOX;
    Last edited by gjh42; 2 Feb 2010 at 02:57 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    133
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Not seeing the new sidebox

    Quote Originally Posted by gjh42 View Post
    <?php
    $content = <<< End_Of_Quote
    Enter your sidebox content here
    End_Of_Quote;
    ?>

    This is not even "dummy" content; it neither has single ' or double " quotes to make it a text string, nor is a valid variable or constant that could hold a text value.

    So $content will be null, and "null" or nothing is being output in the new sidebox.

    You have defined a heading
    define('BOX_HEADING_ORCASOUL_SIDEBOX', 'Gallery');

    but you are still calling for the value of
    $title = BOX_HEADING_NEW_SIDEBOX;
    Yes, Virginia, it's always the obvious things that cause most of the problems, isn't it?

    OK, well at least I seem to have gotten the non-obvious things...

    Thanks for getting back to me on this.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v151 Moved Download FOLDER - Attributes not seeing new location
    By Stealth Elephant in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27 Mar 2014, 03:44 PM
  2. v151 USPS Module not seeing the country of Origin?
    By bige64 in forum Addon Shipping Modules
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7 Feb 2014, 03:27 AM
  3. Not seeing orders
    By markhuerth in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21 May 2010, 01:54 AM
  4. I'm not seeing red
    By charmedbytina2 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24 Apr 2008, 08:20 AM
  5. problems seeing new page in information sidebox
    By multichild in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9 Oct 2007, 06:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR