Plugin Contributions

help question Can I install Zen Cart on an existing website?

Hi all,
    I have searched the FAQ and not found an answer. Sometimes answers to the simplest questions are hardest to find. I have a fully functioning website with content already installed on Media Temple grid service. We are very happy with the hosting and our content.

They offer 1-click installation of Zen Cart from their control panel.
    I wish to add shopping cart functionality for only about 20 products. Can I install Zen Cart in such a way that it does not overwrite the existing content?

The goal is for me to create a Shopping page that has the look and feel of the rest of the site, but is able to link to a secure payment processor like Authorize.net.

So, again, can I install Zen Cart, say in a sub folder, and get it to work with the existing site content?

Thanks for answering my simple question. I have never used a Cart before.

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Can I install Zen Cart on an existing website?

So, again, can I install Zen Cart, say in a sub folder, and get it to work with the existing site content?
    If you are thinking you can just add some submit buttons and add your items to the Zen Cart Shopping Cart the simple answer is no.

Zen Cart is designed to be the whole shopping experience.
    Please do not PM for support issues: a private solution doesn't benefit the community.

Be careful with unsolicited advice via email or PM - Make sure the person you are talking to is a reliable source.

Plugin Contributions

Well, provided you know what you are doing, then once you have set up Zen Cart (in a folder as you mentioned) you can copy the Add To Cart links for products into your main (HTML?) website.

But this creates problems of PHP sessions being lost if people backtrack from the Zen Cart site to the main website.