Plugin Contributions

Default a module for city-specific sales tax rates

Hi -

OK, this is my first attempt at offering something back to the ZC community. Please remember this when evaluating, and kindly grade me "on the curve."

This module is a modification of "California Sales Tax Module," found here: http://www.zen-cart.com/forum/showthread.php?t=46091. Instead of working off of ZIP codes, it uses city names. This has a couple of advantages that I can see:

1. it's (usually) easier for the user to configure, as there are generally fewer cities than ZIP codes.
    2. ZIP codes occasionally can span cities and will therefore yield inaccurate tax codes. Using the city should be more accurate.

Please read the readme.txt fully before using, ESPECIALLY the part about the sql not working as a file upload through Admin->Tools->Install SQL Patches. I welcome any feedback.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: a module for city-specific sales tax rates

Well, the lack of response suggests that nobody cares, but in the off-chance that someone does, I've modified this module to support tax-exempt status for in-state resellers. It does require the addition of a field in the customers table. This is most easily accomplished with the SQL script in the Customer Tax Exempt add-on.

If this module seems lame or unnecessary, feel free to let me know; you won't hurt my feelings.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Plugin Contributions

Maybe this is what I need? I'm in Arizona and have to charge state, county, and city taxes according to destination.... Although I'm not sure which to charge if my customer is in one zone and the package goes to another....

Plugin Contributions

Hi, Dragonlady –

It sounds like in AZ, you're responsible for more collection than we in CA are. I don't know that my add-on will do everything for you, but perhaps it would be a starting point. Good luck and let me know if you have any questions.

Plugin Contributions