Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    723
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    Ver 1.3.8a

    I am trying, instead of website pro, a notice in the purchase page tellingm users they can still use PayPal withotu a PayPal account. All they need to do is look for the "Don't have a PayPal account" to the left of the PayPal LOGIN box and they will get a page to input their credit card info.

    UNfortunately the ZEN PayPal IPN (Standard) does NOT carry over the address and info that the customer just input into. So he has to enter his information again in the PayPal credit cardpayment box.

    BUT, the main problem is when a customer does fill in these fileds, the following error results:
    Some required information is missing or incomplete. Please correct your entries and try again.

    Card Number: You have entered an invalid or partial credit or debit card number. Please check your entry and try again.
    Payment Type: Please select a credit card type.
    Expiration Date: Please enter a valid card expiration date.
    Card Verification Number: Please enter a valid verification number. The verification number is a 3-digit number printed on the back of your card. For American Express cards, the verification number is a 4-digit number printed on the front of your card.
    City, State, ZIP Code: Please enter a valid combination of City, State, and ZIP Code.
    City: Please enter a valid City.
    State: Please enter a valid State.
    ZIP Code: Please enter a valid ZIP Code.


    Even though all the fields are filled in , PayPal does NOT see them, when accessed via the ZEN PayPal IPN. You can test this, without completing an order on the site below:

    www.cvtreasures.com

    Just select PayPal as payment option, then when in PayPal select CONTINUE under "Don't have a PayPal Account"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    60,443
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    51

    Default Re: PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    Those are issues occurring ON the PayPal website. As such, you need to take up those concerns with PayPal directly.
    You can contact them yourself via whatever means you prefer.
    Their online ticket system is at: www.paypal.com/mts
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    723
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    Those are issues occurring ON the PayPal website. As such, you need to take up those concerns with PayPal directly.
    You can contact them yourself via whatever means you prefer.
    Their online ticket system is at: www.paypal.com/mts
    I see where the error message is PayPal related. BUT, what about the customer data just entered on the Zen Payment page, NOT "moving over" to the PayPal payment page?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    60,443
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    51

    Default Re: PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    The data *is* passed. What PayPal does with it is something you'll have to take up with them.
    I've seen it happen a few times.
    Try clearing your browser cookies so it takes you to that page directly, (ref: http://tutorials.zen-cart.com/index.php?article=29) and see if it makes any difference. Be sure to tell PayPal that difference when you report the problem to them.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    723
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    Thanks for your help

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    723
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    PayPal just reponded with this:

    "Hello ,

    thank you for contacting MTS Technical Service.

    There seems to be a problem with your PayPal Zen Module. You need to contact ZEN Cart or look in a Forum for a suitable solution as we do not develop these Modules.

    Feel free to contact us if you have further questions.

    Kind regards,
    Patrick"

    I did refresh after entering the PayPal checkout but still is at my business page loaded by the IPN. I am not sure how to get to this page by bypassing the IPN in order to test independent of IPN. .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    60,443
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    51

    Default Re: PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    Quote Originally Posted by kevinmc3 View Post
    I did refresh after entering the PayPal checkout but still is at my business page loaded by the IPN. I am not sure how to get to this page by bypassing the IPN in order to test independent of IPN. .
    I'm completely confused by whatever you were trying to say there.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    723
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    I'm completely confused by whatever you were trying to say there.
    Sorry, what I meant was I "cleared" the cache and deleted cookies. But, I re-read the doc you sent me and tried FireFox and it resolved the Paypal errors about filled in fields NOT being filled in. Thanks.

    On my other question, is there anyway to have this info on the PayPal "No PayPal account" page, fill in from the Zen Checkout page where they already input their address, etc?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    60,443
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    51

    Default Re: PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    No. Because that's a PayPal bug. I don't care which front-line tech support person over there argues otherwise. The bug is theirs, not ours.

    You've confirmed it yourself: when you go to the Billing page directly because you don't have the paypal cookie set in your browser, it works fine. But if you go to their login page first because of the cookie, THEIR system is losing the information between that page and your click to their Billing page.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    723
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: PayPal Errors - NOT recognizing Filled-in Fields?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    No. Because that's a PayPal bug. I don't care which front-line tech support person over there argues otherwise. The bug is theirs, not ours.

    You've confirmed it yourself: when you go to the Billing page directly because you don't have the paypal cookie set in your browser, it works fine. But if you go to their login page first because of the cookie, THEIR system is losing the information between that page and your click to their Billing page.
    But, even after I clear cookies and AM able to manually input the payment details in the PayPal form, it still is not "carrying over" the payment data I already entered in the Zen payment form, so I have to manually Re-add some of the information again in PayPal form. So, when I click on the PayPal "Don't have a PayPal account" button and to the payment form it is empty , EXCEPT for my name, phone and email. The address is not being filled in from Zen.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Error Message even when all required fields are filled
    By hsartcorp in forum Managing Customers and Orders
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8 Aug 2009, 09:07 PM
  2. Required fields not filled
    By asappia in forum Managing Customers and Orders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16 Oct 2008, 05:23 AM
  3. Account Creation Errors - after adding Additional Customer Fields addon
    By slavna77 in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1 Sep 2008, 05:04 AM
  4. Login fields removed & now IE6 Syntax errors
    By efghijk in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20 Jul 2007, 12:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •