Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    332
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Tax name wont show up on order if tax is 0.00

    Another update to give the DEVS more info:

    Fresh install of 1.3.9a
    No tax exempt module installed.
    Tax set to display even when 0

    Result:
    No description appears, only ":$0.00"


    1.3.8a having the same same settings with tax set to display even when 0 correctly shows description as "Sales Tax: $0.00". Seems like from 1.3.8a to 1.3.9a some bug fixes on the Tax calculation may have broken something.

    Hope that helps!

    Thanks for helping Rod. Right now am doing upgrade testing and am stuck because of this which would be a problem on our wholesale site.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,364
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Tax name wont show up on order if tax is 0.00

    A fix for this is included in the upcoming v1.3.9b which we hope to release any day.
    Carry on with the rest of your upgrade. Applying the 139b updates will be very quick if you're already done upgrading to 139a ;)
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    83
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Tax name wont show up on order if tax is 0.00

    Upgraded to 1.3.9b
    Show Tax Display Status is set to 1 (show even when $0) after the upgrade tax lines that are not applicable to my customer are showing... they are technically $0 but since they don't apply to this customer they should not show:

    Ontario Customer:
    Sub-Total: $64.00
    Shipping: $9.95
    8% PST: $5.12
    5% GST: $3.20
    8% PST + 5% GST: $1.29
    13% HST $0.00 (should not show - only for Eastern Canada NS, NF, NB)
    Tax Exempt: $0.00 (for US customers only)
    Total: $83.56

    Any suggestions other than moving the 1.3.9a file back over?
    Thanks!

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,364
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Tax name wont show up on order if tax is 0.00

    You have two options:

    a) set it to NOT display $0 when it comes to zero. (Most north american customers will be fine with that, and you're talking about such customers in your example)
    b) let them show the $0 anyway, as it's no difference in the end ... they're not charged the tax that doesn't apply to them

    Meanwhile, we'll look at the code some more.


    The code changes for that from 1.3.9a to 1.3.9b were not contained in just one file. It was more complicated than that ;)
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6,167
    Plugin Contributions
    7

    Default Re: Tax name wont show up on order if tax is 0.00

    That was quite a chunk of code change between 1.3.9a & b wasn't it.

    I'm not trying to be a smartass or anything, but something like I proposed earlier really may the the best solution, namely:

    "possibly output a simple "TAX = $0.00" for those times where the description of a zero value is either indeterminate or consists of multple tax classes each with a zero value"

    I didn't realise it when I suggested that, but I reckon it must have been in the back of my mind that outputting multiple tax classes each with a zero value would probably confuse/upset some people.

    I never got around to trying my own suggestion though and it may not be as quite straightforward to implement as I imagine.

    I'm also not 'happy' with the suggestion to use the text "TAX" as the generic output string... perhaps a DEFINE?

    Cheers
    Rod.

    ps. Response not required/expected. You've better things to do :-)

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Newcastle UK
    Posts
    2,896
    Blog Entries
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: Tax name wont show up on order if tax is 0.00

    k, currently testing this as a final fix.

    n.b. this applies to 1.3.9b code only

    in includes/functions/functions_taxes.php

    the final function should be zen_get_all_tax_descriptions

    you should replace that function with the code below

    PHP Code:
     function zen_get_all_tax_descriptions($country_id = -1$zone_id = -1
     {
       global 
    $db;
        if ( (
    $country_id == -1) && ($zone_id == -1) ) {
          if (isset(
    $_SESSION['customer_id'])) {
            
    $country_id $_SESSION['customer_country_id'];
            
    $zone_id $_SESSION['customer_zone_id'];
          } else {
            
    $country_id STORE_COUNTRY;
            
    $zone_id STORE_ZONE;
          }
        }
        
       
    $sql "select tr.* 
                      from (" 
    TABLE_TAX_RATES " tr
                      left join " 
    TABLE_ZONES_TO_GEO_ZONES " za on (tr.tax_zone_id = za.geo_zone_id)
                      left join " 
    TABLE_GEO_ZONES " tz on (tz.geo_zone_id = tr.tax_zone_id) )
                      where (za.zone_country_id is null
                      or za.zone_country_id = 0
                      or za.zone_country_id = '" 
    . (int)$country_id "')
                      and (za.zone_id is null
                      or za.zone_id = 0
                      or za.zone_id = '" 
    . (int)$zone_id "')";
       
    $result $db->Execute($sql);
       
    $taxDescriptions =array();
       while (!
    $result->EOF)
       {
         
    $taxDescriptions[] = $result->fields['tax_description'];
         
    $result->moveNext();
       }
       return 
    $taxDescriptions;
     } 

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    71
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Tax name wont show up on order if tax is 0.00

    Thx for fixing this! Great work here guys!

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6,167
    Plugin Contributions
    7

    Default Re: Tax name wont show up on order if tax is 0.00

    Quote Originally Posted by Argyle View Post
    Thx for fixing this! Great work here guys!
    Who'd have thought that fixing "nothing" would have caused such a lot of head scratching and so much code?

    Certainly not me.

    I'm sure wilt will be pleased to know that it's finally right this time (so far). ;-)

    Cheers
    Rod

 

 
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12 Apr 2011, 11:11 PM
  2. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 8 Jul 2010, 08:51 PM
  3. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 19 Mar 2010, 04:45 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21 Jul 2009, 10:40 PM
  5. Show prices with tax and without tax
    By disao in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16 May 2006, 11:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR