Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    96
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Category Menu link

    I have created a category on my site called Custom. I dont want to put anything in this category but instead when a visitor clicks on Custom, they are taken to a define page where I have a form containing several fields. I'm doing it this way because the attributes dont work for what I want.

    Is this possible to link a category this way?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,134
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Category Menu link

    I think I understand what you are trying to do but if I am wrong then just ignore me!

    I think that you just need to add a menu item to the category menu that links to your page. Is that right?

    If so it is not too difficult but we just need to know which category menu you want to add this link to. Either at the top of the page or in the sidebar?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    96
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Category Menu link

    Posted via Mobile Device

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    96
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Category Menu link

    It's the side menu I want the link. I've recently put one in the top menu but I've come accross a problem with that as detailed in a post titled HELP NEEDED URGENTLY. But I'd prefer the link to be in the side menu along with the other products.
    Posted via Mobile Device

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,134
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Category Menu link

    OK. Well the file you are after is

    includes/templates/yourtemplate/sideboxes/tpl_categories.php

    How you edit it depend a bit on where you want the link to be in the list but here is something to get you started.

    At the bottom of the file you have

    Code:
      $content .= '</div>';
    ?>
    Just above that add:

    Code:
          $content .= '<br />' .'<a class="category-links" href="~~~Link to your page~~~">' . 'New Category' . '</a>' . "\n";
      $content .= '</div>';
    ?>
    Evidently you need to change the ~~~link to your page~~~ to match to your needs.

    this will put the link right at the bottom. If you want it somewhere else that can be done but isn't as easy to explain.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    96
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Category Menu link

    Excellent, thank you. I think thats exactly what I'm looking for. I'll give that a go when I get home later.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    96
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Category Menu link

    Works like a charm but the link doesnt change colour like the others when I hover over it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,134
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Category Menu link

    If you post a url we will tell you why :-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    96
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Category Menu link

    Thanks

    CLICK HERE
    The link i'm referring to is the one entitled "Custom Graphics"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,134
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Category Menu link

    It might be better if I showed you how to add that link to the list above it (At the moment it is appearing where the 'all products' link appears in the default install). If you would like that then I'll talk you through it.

    But to get a hover then in the file stylesheet.css find the lines

    Code:
    A.category-links, A.category-links:visited {
    	color: #004080;
    	text-decoration: none;
    	}
    And add beneath them:

    Code:
    A.category-links:hover {
    	color: #55aabe;
    	text-decoration: none;
    	}
    That should do it.
    Last edited by niccol; 4 Jun 2010 at 09:18 AM. Reason: spelling

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Click-Show-Hide Category Menu reloads on clicking sub-menu
    By rajoo.sharma in forum Addon Sideboxes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20 Nov 2013, 07:02 PM
  2. Navigation menu, Bottom Menu and Link
    By trnghosh in forum General Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15 Mar 2010, 10:30 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21 Aug 2009, 11:22 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28 Jul 2008, 09:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR