Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    606
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

    Hi, I see that a new version is available. I just had a quick question.

    When I do a new upgrade are all files reinstalled like a fresh install? I know that's one of the reasons in creating all override files?

    Is it advisable to save ALL modified files in a separate override file? Does Zen Cart automatically default to use your override files vs. the defaults when available? Just wanted to be clear on that so I don't have any issues in the future with newer versions.

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,503
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

    quick question for the pros...
    Well you got me first....
    You need all the new core files
    You need to check the change log against the files you have overridden to see if they have a new version

    If so, you need to op the new file and make your customizations to it. This is why it is advised that ONLY the files you need to edit/change are place in your template override strycture

    This keeps the number of files that must be checked if they have a new version at a relatively low number
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    606
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

    You are definetly a PRO! Thanks for the response.

    So just to clarify, it's recommended to keep override files of only the files you have actually modified?

    When doing an upgrade these files will not be affected but all the default files...if there are changes will be changed?

    Oh and what does the term op mean?

    I have also made changes to my admin files will they be lost?

    I'm scared, this would be my first upgrade. Thank you again for your time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,503
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

    When doing an upgrade these files will not be affected but all the default files...if there are changes will be changed?

    Oh and what does the term op mean?
    Should have been "open"

    Your not affected statement needs a bit of clarification

    If ANY file you have altered has a NEW VERSION
    You MUST use the new version of the file

    This means that you will have to incorporate your changes into the new file


    I have also made changes to my admin files will they be lost?
    Yes, as there are no admin overrides those will be lost...

    I normally, when editing a "core"file" place my name in the comments
    I can then use the developers tool kit to find all files that have that text in them and have a list of those files that I have altered
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    606
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading to new version, quick question for the pros...

    Okay I think I understand.

    I'll work on this. Thank you again!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Quick question about version
    By Meshach in forum Contribution-Writing Guidelines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21 Jul 2009, 06:12 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19 Jun 2008, 12:44 AM
  3. Quick question before upgrading
    By icklebits in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 9 Feb 2007, 05:46 PM
  4. upgrading 1.2.4d to 1.3.xx version
    By plutop in forum Upgrading from 1.2 to 1.3.x
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13 Oct 2006, 02:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •