Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default changing servers and upgrading to 1.3.9 at same time

    My ZenCart was crawling, so my host suggested that I transfer everything to their newer system-cPanel.

    I was on 1.3.8 and needed to upgrade, but I wanted to transfer everything to the new system first. I wanted to start out with 1.3.8 on the new server so I had a store running and then upgrade. According to ZenCart this is the best way to do it. http://tutorials.zen-cart.com/index.php?article=100

    Problem is, my host had some problems. First Fantistico De Lux was scapped for Simple Scripts. We tried to install with that, but it didn't work. They have a problem now with all of Simple Scripts working, so they said I had to use QuickInstall. With QuickInstall there is no way of installing an older version of Zencart-only the newest is allowed. Also you can not import, you have to use a fresh new install.

    Now I do not know how to import my database from the old system to the new. I have it backed up, but if I import it in phpmyadmin will it override the newer database config and cause problems?

    I need my old customers, their accounts, histories, etc in the new system.

    Thanks for any direction anyone can offer!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    21,995
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: changing servers and upgrading to 1.3.9 at same time

    There is no need to use an outside install script to install Zen Cart. Download the version you want from Sourceforge to your pc, unzip it, ftp it to your server, and run the zc_install (the built-in install script). It takes no more technical knowledge to do it this way; you will have to know how to use FTP anyway to maintain your Zen Cart.

    Read the tutorials (and the various readme files in the unzipped /docs/ folder) for full instructions.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,503
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: changing servers and upgrading to 1.3.9 at same time

    I would upgrade on the old server as you might have php issues if the new server is up to date and running php 5.x

    Your DB issue is addressed here
    http://tutorials.zen-cart.com/index.php?article=108
    and to do it properly with phpmyadmin
    'http://tutorials.zen-cart.com/index.php?article=103
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: changing servers and upgrading to 1.3.9 at same time

    Thanks, gjh42, I know how to install manually from the past. Because of the server change, I did not think I could do it manually this time. I guess because I was on the phone with the host all day and they acted like I had to use a script. I thought maybe their system only worked that way. I am not too familiar with how databases work. It is good to know I can do it manually.

    Hi Kobra! I did think about trying to upgrade on the old server first, but the problem is that they already repointed my DNS. I can't access the old site online anymore. Any suggestions in this scenerio?

    Thanks again :)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,503
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: changing servers and upgrading to 1.3.9 at same time

    If you have a dedicated IP on the old you can edit your 2 configure.php files with it
    Replace the instances of
    http://domain.com
    https://domain.com

    with
    http://IP_number
    https://IP_number
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: changing servers and upgrading to 1.3.9 at same time

    Thanks Kobra, I'll try to figure that out tomorrow. I don't know if I still have a dedicated IP on the old server.

    I tried to quickly update the database on the new server to see what would happen. It said on phpMyAdmin, "Import has been successfully finished, 460 queries executed." I looked and my customers were all there!!

    BUT, in my ZenCart admin I have a pink message on top that reads, "Your database appears to need patching to a higher level. See Tools->Server Information to review patch levels." I looked where the message instructed, but don't really know what I am looking for!

    Does this need I will indeed need to start over with a manual install, or can I try to perservere form here, since i have the database at least showing?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    21,995
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: changing servers and upgrading to 1.3.9 at same time

    I suppose that depends on how much you want to keep your old template. You may be able to install the template override files in the new site and check/merge as required.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. One more time, please - no html in my emails after moving servers?
    By deivid in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 1 Feb 2008, 11:54 PM
  2. Errors after switching servers and upgrading
    By chrisb in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12 Nov 2006, 04:43 PM
  3. Upgrading your dB on Windows Servers - Important
    By kuroi in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4 Sep 2006, 08:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •