Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    bug Currency selector broken using template from template-help.com

    - Using the latest version of Zen Cart
    - No updates being made, installed latest version directly.
    - No addons installed whatsoever, yet.
    - None, besides the template mentioned below.
    - Working on WAMP-server, so no URL available.

    I bought this template osc3.template-help.com /zencart_22974/ from zencartwebsite .com, as it was a lot cheaper than on for example Template Monster. I don't even know if they are a legitimate retailer, but I am both poor and pennywise, so I did anyway - but that's another story.

    It works quite well, except that the currency selector has quit working, it says $currencies_array = instead of showing the selector. I have tried to edit the settings and even turning it off in "Layout Boxes Controller" (currencies.php), but it's still there.
    If I have more than one language to chose from, they line up vertically instead of horizontally, which is also wrong. For now I don't want to show the language selector at all, but it won't go away if I try to shut it off either, just like the currency selector.

    So, it seems changes I do in "Layout Boxes Controller" won't be visible with the template I use, is there any way to fix this? Or do I need to go into the template code and make changes, in that case: What do I do, and in what files?
    Last edited by Kim; 29 Apr 2011 at 03:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    376
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Currency selector broken?

    In order to determine whether it's a template issue you should consider switching to template classic to see if the problem persists. If the bug disappears nothing should be wrong with your ZenCart installation.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Currency selector broken?

    I might add that I tried and successfully added a currency selector through the "Layout Boxes Controller", to the left column. However, I like the thing with the currency selector in the upper right corner. So how do I change it to make it work?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Currency selector broken?

    Quote Originally Posted by Soniccc View Post
    In order to determine whether it's a template issue you should consider switching to template classic to see if the problem persists. If the bug disappears nothing should be wrong with your ZenCart installation.
    It works with the standard theme that comes with ZC, and I can add it to the template, but it's clearly an error in the template.
    I THINK that this is the currency selector thing I found in the template's code, but I really don't know what's wrong hehe...

    <div class="col2">
    <div class="indent">
    <div class="col1"> <b><?php echo BOX_HEADING_CURRENCIES; ?>:</b><br>
    </div>
    <div class="col2">
    <?=zen_draw_form('currencies', zen_href_link(basename(ereg_replace('.php','', $PHP_SELF)), '', $request_type, false), 'get')?>
    <?
    if (isset($currencies) && is_object($currencies)) {
    reset($currencies->currencies);
    $currencies_array = array();
    while (list($key, $value) = each($currencies->currencies)) {
    $currencies_array[] = array('id' => $key, 'text' => $value['title']);
    }
    $hidden_get_variables = '';
    reset($_GET);
    while (list($key, $value) = each($_GET)) {
    if ( ($key != 'currency') && ($key != zen_session_name()) && ($key != 'x') && ($key != 'y') ) {
    $hidden_get_variables .= zen_draw_hidden_field($key, $value);
    }
    }
    }
    ?><?=zen_draw_pull_down_menu('currency', $currencies_array, $_SESSION['currency'], ' onchange="this.form.submit();"') . $hidden_get_variables . zen_hide_session_id()?>
    </form>
    </div>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    33,715
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Currency selector broken?

    You really need to talk to the template designer. We do not support purchased templates.
    Please do not PM for support issues: a private solution doesn't benefit the community.

    Be careful with unsolicited advice via email or PM - Make sure the person you are talking to is a reliable source.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Currency selector broken?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kim View Post
    You really need to talk to the template designer. We do not support purchased templates.
    Oki. I'll wait for a friend of mine, who's somewhat of a "code guy" to get back from a vacation, and have him take a look at it. If he can't solve it, I'll try to find support elsewhere.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,162
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Currency selector broken?

    For giggles and grins.
    Use ultra compare or beyond compare and compare a version of 139h and your template. Maybe they are using an old version of code from zencart..
    Just a thought
    Mark
    Hare Do

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Currency selector broken?

    Quote Originally Posted by haredo View Post
    For giggles and grins.
    Use ultra compare or beyond compare and compare a version of 139h and your template. Maybe they are using an old version of code from zencart..
    That might be it. Seems the template is made for Zen-Cart 1.3.8. Would this be a very big problem when running the most recent version of ZC (i.e. security etc.)? Or is it a matter of more obvious errors like these, that can be dealt with? And I guess there's no easy way to just "update" the whole template to fit the most recent version?

    I have never been working with ZC before, but only Joomla and Wordpress, and I am basically really an amateur when it comes to making websites as whole - so I really have no clue.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    picaflor-azul.com
    Posts
    6,930
    Plugin Contributions
    45

    Default Re: Currency selector broken using template from template-help.com

    That might be it. Seems the template is made for Zen-Cart 1.3.8. Would this be a very big problem when running the most recent version of ZC (i.e. security etc.)? Or is it a matter of more obvious errors like these, that can be dealt with? And I guess there's no easy way to just "update" the whole template to fit the most recent version?
    If the template has been properly coded, it should have no problems working with 1.3.8 or 1.3.9. I would contact the template author.



    Thanks,

    Anne

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Using a template from the internet, help needed...
    By rainbow_pixie_star in forum Addon Templates
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3 Feb 2012, 02:14 AM
  2. Purchased template from Template Monster ... need help.
    By dragonimpact in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16 Nov 2010, 04:07 PM
  3. How would i remove languages & currency from this template???
    By hcd888 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 May 2009, 02:09 PM
  4. Customer Store Template Selector
    By SoftCorpse in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23 Feb 2008, 05:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR