Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question make the footer links to be in a row?

    Hi, I use version v1.3.9h.
    I am using a template and need to make the footer links to be in a row NOT on top of each other!
    Here is a link to my test page:
    http://computerszone.co.uk/web/

    here is a part of my tpl_footer.php below:
    --------------------
    <?php
    if (!isset($flag_disable_footer) || !$flag_disable_footer) {
    ?>

    <div class="footer-box">

    <div class="border-bottom">
    <div class="corner-bottom-left">
    <div class="corner-bottom-right">
    <div class=" clear border-top">
    <div class="footer-box-indent">
    <div class="clear">
    <div id="footerlink">

    <?php echo '<a href="' . HTTP_SERVER . DIR_WS_CATALOG . '">'; ?><?php echo HEADER_TITLE_CATALOG; ?></a>
    <?php if (DEFINE_CONTACT_US_STATUS <= 1) { ?>
    <li><?php echo '<a href="' . zen_href_link(FILENAME_CONTACT_US, '', 'SSL') . '">' . BOX_INFORMATION_CONTACT . '</a>'; ?></li>
    <?php } ?>

    <li><a href="index.php?main_page=site_map" > Site Map </a></li>

    <?php if (EZPAGES_STATUS_FOOTER == '1' or (EZPAGES_STATUS_FOOTER == '2' and (strstr(EXCLUDE_ADMIN_IP_FOR_MAINTENANCE, $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'])))) { ?>

    <?php require($template->get_template_dir('tpl_ezpages_bar_footer.php',DIR_WS_TEMPLATE, $current_page_base,'templates'). '/tpl_ezpages_bar_footer.php'); ?>

    <?php } ?>

    </div>
    </div>
    <div class="clear">

    -----------------------
    And here is the part of my stylesheet.css below:
    -----------------------
    .footer-box .border-bottom {background:#343536 url(../images/border1_bottom.gif) repeat-x bottom;}

    .footer-box .corner-bottom-left {background:url(../images/corner1_bottom_left.gif) no-repeat left bottom;}

    .footer-box .corner-bottom-right {background:url(../images/corner1_bottom_right.gif) no-repeat right bottom;}

    .footer-box .border-top {background:url(../images/border1_top.gif) repeat-x top;}

    .footer-box-indent{ padding:24px 10px 24px 24px;}

    #footerlink a{ background:url(../images/list_marker_footer.gif) 0 4px no-repeat; padding:0 10px 0 18px; text-decoration:none; color:#c2c2c2; font-size:13px; line-height:14px; display:block; float:left;}

    #footerlink a:hover{ color:#f00; background:url(../images/list_marker_footer.gif) 1px 4px no-repeat;}

    .footer-box{ text-align:center; padding:0px 0; color:#aaaaaa; font-size:12px;}

    .footer-box a, .footer-box a:hover{ color:#FFFFFF;}
    ----------------
    Many Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,821
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: make the footer links to be in a row

    Probably easier to use EZ Page links, then would not have to
    modify footer page.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: make the footer links to be in a row

    Thanks misty,
    I am using EZ-pages but it just puts the links on top of each other instead of beside each other.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,821
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: make the footer links to be in a row

    What happens to those links when you switch to default, Classic, template?
    If it works ok then, problem is with current template.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: make the footer links to be in a row

    Yes the problem was with the current template and I managed to fix it.
    I just removed the <li> tags from the links in tpl_footer.php and it worked.
    Many Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,168
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: make the footer links to be in a row

    Removing an li tag might lead to more trouble with HTML validation. Did you try display: inline;
    Last edited by dbltoe; 17 Jun 2011 at 06:31 PM. Reason: iPad spell checker

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: make the footer links to be in a row

    Since your custom template file already eliminates the stock <ul> around the footer links, you do need to remove the <li> tags as you described.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,168
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: make the footer links to be in a row?

    You may have messed up validation while trying to fix this.
    You need to change <div id="footerlink"> to <div class="footerlink"> wherever it is found. The id tag is only used for items that appear once (like body). The class tag is for items that appear many times throughout the site.

    On a side note, I am amazed at how many divs it took to make the footer-box a black background.

    These store-bought templates just get better every day - NOT

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v151 altering footer links (NOT the EZ links)
    By Cameron14 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13 Jul 2014, 07:10 PM
  2. How to change links at the top of the page & in the footer
    By sc436 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31 Jan 2011, 08:47 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13 Aug 2009, 03:11 AM
  4. how do I remove the category box header and footer row
    By ribbonsbaskets0 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16 Nov 2008, 09:50 PM
  5. buttons for the top row of links
    By jjaomni in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12 May 2006, 09:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR