Plugin Contributions

Default Auspost Shipping Module with new AusPost API

Hi All,

For those who are not aware AusPost are killing the old drc.edeliver.com.au/ratecalc.asp rate calculator and have introduced a new API.

No one at Auspost can tell me when this new API will be the only avenue to obtain Auspost shipping quotes.

I have been using the free auspost contribution for a few years. It works well.

Recently Auspost made a DNS change and the old api stopped reporting delivery times. By point directly at the old IP address this as a workaround has worked well. IP = 155.144.24.22

The new API from Auspost is a bit more complex and requires a personal ID Key to be embeded in the URL Via CURL. After working this out it does seem to work with a few glitches.

No shipping days are returned, and the US $9 tax on items over .5kg is not being calculated.

Documentation available here: http://auspost.com.au/devcentre/asse...3-20110929.pdf

Finally to my question:

Has anyone integrated the new auspost API into the free auspost shipping module.

While it is not rocket science i would hate to re-invent the wheel.

To use the api you must register and get a personal id.

Then Simple PHP to access the site is:

<?php
    function get_auspost_api($url)
    {
    $crl = curl_init();
    $timeout = 5;
    curl_setopt ($crl, CURLOPT_HTTPHEADER, array('AUTH-KEY:<PUT YOUR KEY HERE>'));
    curl_setopt ($crl, CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYPEER, false);
    curl_setopt ($crl, CURLOPT_URL, $url);
    curl_setopt ($crl, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, 1);
    curl_setopt ($crl, CURLOPT_CONNECTTIMEOUT, $timeout);
    $ret = curl_exec($crl);
    curl_close($crl);
    return $ret;
    }

//International Air parcel postage calculation example)
    $auspost_xml = get_auspost_api(
    "https://auspost.com.au/api/postage/parcel/international/calculate.xml?&country_code=US&weight=.49&service_code=INTL_SERVICE_AIR_MAIL&ext ra_cover=");

//Do XML stuff

$xml = simplexml_load_string($auspost_xml);