Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    90
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default English Pound signs not displaying and causing problem in admin

    Hi Guys, I just upgraded from 1.3.9b to 1.5.0.
    My site shows just as I expect it to except my English pounds signs £ were displaying in some cases as a small black triangle with a question mark in the black triangle.
    so I've been going through the attributes (option names text boxes) and changing them to the full html version &pound instead of the keyboard typed £ and this seems to work.

    Now my related problem is that on some of my products' descriptions I have an English pound symbol written by me within the main description of the text
    but when I go into Admin/Catalog/Categories/Products then into a category then a product
    I can see and edit the Products Description on most of my products, but on some I see just a white box with none of my text showing and if I press Preview I don't see the text on preview.
    The webpage showing the actual product does show the text that should be there. It's just that now I can't edit it.

    I've noticed that the faulty ones are where I wrote an English Pound sign in the body of the text so now I can't edit the product to fix the problem.
    I've attached a small screenshot to show the incorect symbol that I see in my product.

    Is there something that I can do to fix this?
    I tried to use the Admin/Developers Toolkit to search for some of the keywords so that I could locate which products were not displaying the text within Admin but when I searched I couldn't locate any of my keywords, so I guess that this function isn't designed to search through my products.

    Any help will be much appreciated.

    Thanks

    Nedward
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Nedward; 11 Jan 2012 at 12:13 AM. Reason: small edit needed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    60,305
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    51

    Default Re: English Pound signs not displaying and causing problem in admin

    From the v1.5.0 release notes:
    A Word About UTF-8 vs iso-8859-1
    Please see this online article for guidance on upgrading old sites from iso-8859-1 to utf8
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    90
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: English Pound signs not displaying and causing problem in admin

    Thanks DrByte, I will read that.
    To be honest I saw that in the release notes and I had no idea what it was or what it meant or what relevance it had to me.
    I'll do better next time.
    Thanks for your quick response.
    Kindest Regards

    Nedward

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    90
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: English Pound signs not displaying and causing problem in admin

    Hi DrByte

    all sorted - Many thanks.

    I've made the changes to my includes/languages/english.php file from utf-8 to latin1 and my webpages started showing the English Pound sign correctly, but my admin was still showing blanks in the descriptions.
    So I then also changed the other english.php which is located in Admin/languages/english.php and now this is working as it should.

    the link you sent me to gave this advice:
    To do this, you'll need to edit your upgraded english.php file to use the old CHARSET and setlocale settings, as well as edit your configure.php file to set DB_CHARSET to 'latin1' instead of 'utf8'.
    But my configure.php's don't mention the charset, so I didn't make any changes in there, just the english.php files.

    Once again, Thanks for the advice

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    115
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: English Pound signs not displaying and causing problem in admin

    Changing the configure.php from utf8 to latin1 in both includes/ and YOURADMIN/includes in my upgraded cart solved it for me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: English Pound signs not displaying and causing problem in admin

    Thanks for clarifying this, Nedward - this worked for me
    Miles

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    42
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: English Pound signs not displaying and causing problem in admin

    or if you wanted to leave your configure files using the utf-8 charset

    you can change £ for
    Code:
    £
    in your admin currencies

    or for €
    Code:
    €
    etc.,

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28 Nov 2011, 10:53 AM
  2. Problem displaying admin
    By dfontana in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20 Nov 2009, 03:39 PM
  3. Strange codes/signs admin/login
    By mambo75 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10 May 2009, 06:49 PM
  4. Replies: 27
    Last Post: 5 Mar 2008, 02:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •