Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    123
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default [Done v1.5.0] Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    Getting this error when updating customer who has not provided a phone # (which I don't require):

    Errors have occurred during the processing of your form!
    Please make the following corrections:

    * The 'Telephone Number' entry must have at least 0 characters.
    My install: was Vanilla 1.3.9h, now 1.5.5b, Apache 2.4, PHP 7.0.6, MySQL 5.5.8 64b, Windows 7 64b, 8GB RAM, i3 3.3gHz
    Modules: [Payment=Paypal] [Shipping=Canada Post 1.5.3 merged] [nonCAPTCHA]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    20,024
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    Try making that field blank rather than zero.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    123
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    I blanked out the filed Telephone Number and now getting this error:

    Errors have occurred during the processing of your form!
    Please make the following corrections:

    * The 'Telephone Number' entry must have at least characters.
    My install: was Vanilla 1.3.9h, now 1.5.5b, Apache 2.4, PHP 7.0.6, MySQL 5.5.8 64b, Windows 7 64b, 8GB RAM, i3 3.3gHz
    Modules: [Payment=Paypal] [Shipping=Canada Post 1.5.3 merged] [nonCAPTCHA]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,364
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    Ya, you'll have to put something in that field.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    123
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    I don't really need customer phones, and they are able to create accounts w/o phone, but then I cannot edit the account information, as when saving, it throws errors. Any ideas?
    My install: was Vanilla 1.3.9h, now 1.5.5b, Apache 2.4, PHP 7.0.6, MySQL 5.5.8 64b, Windows 7 64b, 8GB RAM, i3 3.3gHz
    Modules: [Payment=Paypal] [Shipping=Canada Post 1.5.3 merged] [nonCAPTCHA]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,364
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    As I said, put something in that field, and the error will go away. As long as you put at least something, it will work.

    There's a bug that doesn't allow for 0 to override the check for empty submission in the admin screen. That may be fixed in a future version.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,364
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    Actually, the bug was fixed in v1.5.0
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    442
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    I have postal code set to minimum 0 but when I edit a customer from admin and try to save my changes I'm getting this error:
    The Post Code entry must have at least 0 characters. This is an Ireland customer which they do not have postal codes and it's blank.

    I'm running Zen Cart 1.5.4, the above post says this was fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,364
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    Quote Originally Posted by marcopolo View Post
    I have postal code set to minimum 0 but when I edit a customer from admin and try to save my changes I'm getting this error:
    The Post Code entry must have at least 0 characters. This is an Ireland customer which they do not have postal codes and it's blank.

    I'm running Zen Cart 1.5.4, the above post says this was fixed?
    The above posts were talking about phone number, not postal code.

    If you want to allow blank postal codes, open /admin/customers.php, and around line 435 you'll see code like this:
    Code:
     if (entry_postcode == "" || entry_postcode.length < <?php echo ENTRY_POSTCODE_MIN_LENGTH; ?>) {    error_message = error_message + "<?php echo JS_POST_CODE; ?>";
        error = 1;
      }
    Remove the part I've highlighted in red, and then as long as your "Minimum Length" setting for "Postal Code" is 0 it will allow it to be blank.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    442
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Phone number required even when chars set to 0

    Ok thank you!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. required phone number
    By ctcentralinfo in forum General Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 1 Feb 2010, 08:11 AM
  2. Missing phone number even if it's required
    By asappia in forum General Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26 Nov 2008, 09:23 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29 Oct 2008, 08:20 AM
  4. Phone Number Always Required
    By longstockings in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27 Aug 2008, 09:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR