Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Default "Ask A Question" compatible with v1.5?

    When the "Ask A Question" module will be compatible with zencart 1.5?
    http://www.zen-cart.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=206

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Waikato, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,512
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: "Ask A Question" compatible with zencart 1.5?

    From my limited testing it appears to work, as it doesn't touch the admin side of your store it is more likely to work, also swguy who has been looking after it has updated all his other mods that needed updating, so this one probably didn't need it.
    Webzings Design
    The last couple of Zen-Cart sites we have worked on, Darncat Designs, Nags to Riches, Magic Brow Bands.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    86
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "Ask A Question" compatible with zencart 1.5?

    Anyone ever try with side box??

    http://www.zen-cart.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=351

    Dave

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,669
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "Ask A Question" compatible with zencart 1.5?

    Let's find out, as I use Ask a Question.

    Looks like Ask a Question will work, my 1.5 test site:

    http://www.prom-mart.com/demo-1/die-...nked-p-12.html

    Went through process and looked to be working.

    Only thing: I didn't set-up actual email on this test site, but may get around to that. But looks like will work on 1.5 as my test email was "sent".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    86
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "Ask A Question" compatible with zencart 1.5?

    Quote Originally Posted by SPH View Post
    Let's find out, as I use Ask a Question.

    Looks like Ask a Question will work, my 1.5 test site:

    http://www.prom-mart.com/demo-1/die-...nked-p-12.html

    Went through process and looked to be working.

    Only thing: I didn't set-up actual email on this test site, but may get around to that. But looks like will work on 1.5 as my test email was "sent".
    I tried to go to your web site to look at it and no luck
    is it down now?

    Dave

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,669
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "Ask A Question" compatible with zencart 1.5?

    Yes, for some reason down as of this morning. Contacted Host, haven't yet gone back to ticket to see what they say.

    Hope it wasn't the Ask a Question Mod! :)

    BTW, I did get the email on my test, I forgot it went somewhere else. So this will work on 1.5...so long as it didn't bring down my test site.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    86
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "Ask A Question" compatible with zencart 1.5?

    I installed the ask a question with side box
    Is not working for me,
    does not show the ask button, and when you do get form to come up it looks like this
    FORM_TITLE
    * Required information
    ENTRY_NAME *
    ENTRY_EMAIL *
    ENTRY_ENQUIRY*


    Help????

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,669
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "Ask A Question" compatible with zencart 1.5?

    I've never used the side box version, but have always used Ask a Question primarily because I only use PayPal and encourage customers to check availability before ordering.

    Host doesn't yet know what caused my site to disappear (I can still get in to admin). But not a big issue yet. I'll pop-up another 1.5 demo site soon probably with Fantastico or Quick Install. (My disappearing site was a manual install with full demo products.) May put Ask a Question at top of mod list along with Ultimate SEO URL, to see if all works nicely together.

    sph

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    86
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "Ask A Question" compatible with zencart 1.5?

    Thanks

    do you ever do any custom work?
    I would love to have a "make an offer module"

    Dave

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,669
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "Ask A Question" compatible with zencart 1.5?

    No, I'm not a coder. In six years with zencart I wish I got in to that, along with template design.

    For some reason, make an offer sounds familiar. Does zencart have one? I suppose you could use Ask a Question for Make an Offer, just rename the text or pic.

    Looks like Ask a Question is not playing nice with Ultimate SEO URL on 1.5. I've used Ask a Question for years. Only messing with Ultimate SEO URL very recently when I learned it was upgraded for 1.5. And it works on every 1.5 test site I put up. But I haven't tested Ask a Question on my 1.5 test sites.

    Today I installed another 1.5 test/demo site. Put on Ask a Question first thing and it did work. I then installed Ultimate SEO URL and site went down like the first. Looks like some conflict. Too bad, as I wanted to upgrade main site to 1.5 next month or so and use both mods.

    Deleted both of my 1.5 demo test sites.

    Start again maybe tomorrow, testing mods. Should probably take another look at the CEON URI this time for friendly url re-writing.

    sph
    prommart com
    Last edited by SPH; 10 May 2012 at 07:41 AM.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Help with Ask a Question plug-in
    By dsimon in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1 Jul 2012, 12:30 PM
  2. Help with ask a question mod
    By thephantomfl in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2 Nov 2008, 02:37 PM
  3. Ask a Question [product] Question - Stop Guest Posts
    By ScrapbookSupplies in forum Addon Sideboxes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22 Jun 2008, 04:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg