Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1

    Default Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    The product I'm referring to is:
    http://www.hardwoodcanes.com/extra-r...tips-p-19.html

    If you just select "add to cart" without selecting a size, it just replies "your shopping cart is empty". Isn't it supposed to stay on the product page, and say something like, "you forgot to select a size", or something like that? I'd like an error message to be displayed, rather than just say your cart is empty.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Longs, SC
    Posts
    367
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    Quote Originally Posted by canemasters View Post
    The product I'm referring to is:
    http://www.hardwoodcanes.com/extra-r...tips-p-19.html

    If you just select "add to cart" without selecting a size, it just replies "your shopping cart is empty". Isn't it supposed to stay on the product page, and say something like, "you forgot to select a size", or something like that? I'd like an error message to be displayed, rather than just say your cart is empty.

    Thank you.
    I suspect that you have all three option values set at display only. Make the option value "please select..." display only and the default. The make the other option values display only/ no, default / no, and required yes. That will force an error if not selected.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    Quote Originally Posted by badarac View Post
    I suspect that you have all three option values set at display only. Make the option value "please select..." display only and the default. The make the other option values display only/ no, default / no, and required yes. That will force an error if not selected.
    No, that's not it. If you take a look at:
    http://www.hardwoodcanes.com/birds-h...-cane-p-4.html

    The attribute "wood type" is a required attribute. It has several options, and the only one that is set to display only is "Please choose a wood type (REQUIRED) "

  4. #4

    Default Re: Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    Here's a screen shot of my attributes for wood type:



    Maybe it's because the free attribute is set when most of them aren't free??
    Last edited by canemasters; 2 Apr 2012 at 07:39 PM.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    It's not the free box being checked that's causing the problem. I disabled the free box, and it's still doing it.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    I re-uploaded the entire contents of includes, and the admin folder from a fresh install just to verify nothing went wrong during the file transfer, but it's still doing it.

    I'm just not getting any error that I missed a required attribute. It's going right to "your shopping cart is empty".



    For an example of one of my sites with the attribute error that works, look here:
    http://www.canemasters.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_3&products_id=298

    Now, on my other site, it doesn't work. Look here:
    http://www.hardwoodcanes.com/birds-h...-cane-p-4.html

    I don't get it. I compared attribute settings between the two sites, and they both match.
    Both sites are running 1.5.0
    Last edited by canemasters; 2 Apr 2012 at 08:21 PM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    Wait a second... I think this has something to do with the url redirection.

    If you notice on the canamasters.com website, it looks like when you simply add that cane to the cart without choosing a wood type, it changes the url slightly.

    But on the hardwoodcanes.com site, the url does something completely different.

    Maybe my .htaccess file???

  8. #8

    Default Re: Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    Ultimate SEOURL's was causing the problem. I removed the files from my website, and removed the code from my .htaccess file, and now everything is working great.

    Is this a bug? Can somebody with ultimate seo url's verify if you just click add to cart without filling out a required attribute, if it simply says "your shopping cart is empty" ?

    I'd really like to use ULTIMATE SEO URL's, but not if it has this bug, if it is in fact a bug...

    At least I found the problem...

  9. #9

    Default Re: Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    This really sucks. I'm going to have to modify a lot of shortcuts if I can't get ulitmate seo to work right. It works great, except for when a customer tries to add a product to thier cart without choosing a required attribute.

    It's just not rewriting the url properly for zencart to tell them they forgot to modify the attribute.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cape Town & London (depends on the season)
    Posts
    2,984
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Problem with attributes set with Display Only

    What is your reason for using SEO URL stuff?

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v138a Problem display Attributes images
    By Mikado in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31 Mar 2012, 10:07 PM
  2. Attributes Display problem...need some help please.
    By Zadris in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 23 Oct 2011, 05:20 AM
  3. Problem with Required attributes after moving attributes to product listing page
    By bigmo337 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20 Jun 2010, 12:03 AM
  4. My Attributes Controller doesn't display my attributes
    By yldziner in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26 Feb 2009, 09:09 AM
  5. Attributes display
    By Prellyan in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4 Nov 2006, 04:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •