Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Errors after my provider moved me to a cpanel system from hsphere

    I have a similar (but not exactly the same problem). Would it be hijacking to post to this thread?

    On the permissions note. My provider just moved me to a cpanel system from hsphere - I can't leave my two configure.php files at CHMOD 0644, zencart complains. If I CHMOD to 0444 they won't run. So I cheated, in CPANEL file manger I can CHMOD to 544 - not a legal number but it lets it run.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Errors after my provider moved me to a cpanel system from hsphere

    The second half of the above statement was meant to help someone else.
    My Hosting provider moved me from hsphere to cpanle. THis of course changed my paths, database location, and miscellaneous other stuff.

    I followed the steps at http://tutorials.zen-cart.com/index.php?article=100

    the portion of it where I upload and run the "Fix_Cache_Key.php" is not working. I uploaded it, but my server will not let it run using CHMOD0644. I get: "Internal Server ErrorThe server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request."

    Amusingly my storefront is working, it's the admin section that is not working and giving me the session ID error.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,905
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Errors after my provider moved me to a cpanel system from hsphere

    Quote Originally Posted by bjjohns View Post
    I can't leave my two configure.php files at CHMOD 0644, zencart complains.
    Yeah, Zencart doesn't like its configuration files to be writable during normal operations. There is no reason for them to be writable, and it can pose a (very small) security risk.

    Quote Originally Posted by bjjohns View Post
    If I CHMOD to 0444 they won't run.
    This is *VERY* unusual.
    PHP files only need to be *readable* (to the web server) in order to function, and 444 files permissions the most readable they can ever be. There *shouldn't* be an issue here, and I've literally no explanation for it whatsoever.

    Quote Originally Posted by bjjohns View Post
    So I cheated, in CPANEL file manger I can CHMOD to 544 - not a legal number but it lets it run.
    Who said that this isn't a 'legal number'? It is unusual for sure, and even *pointless* because all it is doing is setting the 'execute' bit for the file owner, but as stated, PHP files don't need to be executable to function, and frankly I'm a wee bit concerned as to why this is needed, and equally curious as to why the 444 permissions don't work (What was the actual error message you were getting?).

    Now if you were referring to *folder* permissions it is a slightly different ballgame, because the execute bits have a different meaning for folders than they do for files.

    Very strange indeed.

    Cheers
    Rod

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    9,958
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Errors after my provider moved me to a cpanel system from hsphere

    Possibly a "badly configured" server... suggests a host that may not really know how to config a server for eCommerce. And there are a LOT of these around.
    Our latest project is Pet Tags.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    11
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Errors after my provider moved me to a cpanel system from hsphere

    Thanks to both of you. I guess I will try to get the provider to figure it out. Anyone know what happens if I just delete all the sessions in the database?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,905
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Errors after my provider moved me to a cpanel system from hsphere

    Quote Originally Posted by schoolboy View Post
    Possibly a "badly configured" server... suggests a host that may not really know how to config a server for eCommerce. And there are a LOT of these around.
    Under most other situations I'd agree with you, but for the life of me I can't imagine what the host could have possibly mis-configured that would produce such a bazaar set of requirements for functionality. It really defies all logic and goes against the grain of everything I know about file permissions.

    If I weren't so busy with other matters I'd not hesitate to investigate this a little further. I'm sure there is a logical answer to the mystery, but I just can't see what it would be.

    Oh well... nothing for me to lose sleep over...

    Cheers
    Rod

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Image issues - Moved site to new provider
    By matchlock in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14 Jun 2011, 10:31 PM
  2. Problems with Zen Cart after Provider moved my website to a new server
    By ingoito in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27 Apr 2009, 09:28 PM
  3. Host provider moved site
    By kidsserenity in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23 Apr 2008, 07:28 PM
  4. errors when moved to new provider
    By kevinm2 in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5 Jun 2006, 04:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •