Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    227
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Moving site from sub directory errors

    Hello,
    I have finally finished my site and used the info here.. tutorials.zen-cart.com/index.php?article=122 to transfer it over. The admin login side of things looks fine, however, the site looks like this... craftjam.co.uk. Does anyone know what I have done wrong?

    Thanks
    A

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    9,956
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Moving site from sub directory errors

    Check to see that everything is correct in your configure.php file.
    Our latest project is Pet Tags.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    227
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving site from sub directory errors

    Here is my cunfigure.php file. I was originally in a folder called /directory/ so when I moved it all to the root, I deleted this part only from the 4 parts it was in. Two of them just had /directory/ with no extention after it so I changed those two to /public_html/

    I have highlighted them in red below.

    Is this the problem? Have I put the wrong thing here, I wondered if it should be something like /index. I really have no clue!



    /*************** NOTE: This file is similar, but DIFFERENT from the "admin" version of configure.php. ***********/
    /*************** The 2 files should be kept separate and not used to overwrite each other. ***********/

    // Define the webserver and path parameters
    // HTTP_SERVER is your Main webserver: eg-http://www.your_domain.com
    // HTTPS_SERVER is your Secure webserver: eg-https://www.your_domain.com
    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://craftjam.co.uk');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'https://craftjam.co.uk');

    // Use secure webserver for checkout procedure?
    define('ENABLE_SSL', 'false');

    // NOTE: be sure to leave the trailing '/' at the end of these lines if you make changes!
    // * DIR_WS_* = Webserver directories (virtual/URL)
    // these paths are relative to top of your webspace ... (ie: under the public_html or httpdocs folder)
    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG', '/public_html');
    define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', '/public_html');

    define('DIR_WS_IMAGES', 'images/');
    define('DIR_WS_INCLUDES', 'includes/');
    define('DIR_WS_FUNCTIONS', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'functions/');
    define('DIR_WS_CLASSES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'classes/');
    define('DIR_WS_MODULES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'modules/');
    define('DIR_WS_LANGUAGES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'languages/');
    define('DIR_WS_DOWNLOAD_PUBLIC', DIR_WS_CATALOG . 'pub/');
    define('DIR_WS_TEMPLATES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'templates/');

    define('DIR_WS_PHPBB', '/');

    // * DIR_FS_* = Filesystem directories (local/physical)
    //the following path is a COMPLETE path to your Zen Cart files. eg: /var/www/vhost/accountname/public_html/store/
    define('DIR_FS_CATALOG', '/home/craftja1/public_html');

    (taken code out here, the following if the 4th one it tells you to change)

    // The next 2 "defines" are for SQL cache support.
    // For SQL_CACHE_METHOD, you can select from: none, database, or file
    // If you choose "file", then you need to set the DIR_FS_SQL_CACHE to a directory where your apache
    // or webserver user has write privileges (chmod 666 or 777). We recommend using the "cache" folder inside the Zen Cart folder
    // ie: /path/to/your/webspace/public_html/zen/cache -- leave no trailing slash
    define('SQL_CACHE_METHOD', 'none');
    define('DIR_FS_SQL_CACHE', '/home/craftja1/public_html/cache');

    Thanks
    A

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    227
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving site from sub directory errors

    When I had my original dreamweaver site up, i was told by my host that the front page needs to be called index.html. When i click the links on my site now, it still seems to be looking for index.html. maybe theres something I need to change there. I have asked them for help but they say they can't help with 3rd party app's

    A

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cape Town & London (depends on the season)
    Posts
    2,984
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving site from sub directory errors

    Quote Originally Posted by rainbow_pixie_star View Post
    When I had my original dreamweaver site up, i was told by my host that the front page needs to be called index.html. When i click the links on my site now, it still seems to be looking for index.html. maybe theres something I need to change there. I have asked them for help but they say they can't help with 3rd party app's

    A
    If you have index.html in your ROOT folder, rename it to index-html.SUSP

    OTHER folders in zencart will have their own index.html files (DO NOT rename these, or mess with them).

    Your host is a pratt. If you were hosting with a GOOD company - one that KNOWS zencart, they would probably assist you (maybe even for free).

    Zencart does NOT operate off flat "HTML". It operates off PHP.

    Forget all you know about Dreamweaver. Put it back in its box and leave it there. It is of no use to you.

    While Dreamweaver can be used to develop php platforms, you need to be an expert in php before you jump into that pond. This thread does not indicate that you are such an expert.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    227
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving site from sub directory errors

    I have index.php thats all.

    Some of the guys on my host are really good, but i guess this one was following the rules or couldn't be bothered

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cape Town & London (depends on the season)
    Posts
    2,984
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving site from sub directory errors

    Tell me if I am right:

    Before you decided a webshop might be nice, you built a HTML site using dreamweaver on your domain.

    Then you installed zencart in a sub-directory.

    Then you decided to move zencart to the ROOT directory to become your main website.

    You did not delete/disable the original dreamweaver site. so you still have that operational, with its index.html file in the root folder.

    Just RE-NAME that index.html file to index-html.SUSP and the broweers will then operate by finding znecart's index.php file.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    227
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving site from sub directory errors

    Tell me if I am right:

    Before you decided a webshop might be nice, you built a HTML site using dreamweaver on your domain. YES

    Then you installed zencart in a sub-directory. YES

    Then you decided to move zencart to the ROOT directory to become your main website. YES

    You did not delete/disable the original dreamweaver site. so you still have that operational, with its index.html file in the root folder. I did delete all my old site off my root directory before transfering zencart, but I must have missed something but not sure what? I cannot see an index.html file there but there is an index.php

    Just RE-NAME that index.html file to index-html.SUSP and the broweers will then operate by finding znecart's index.php file.

    No index.php to rename, when I go onto my site there are just links, and click a link it says... The requested URL /public_html/index.php was not found on this server.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    102
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving site from sub directory errors

    Quote Originally Posted by rainbow_pixie_star View Post
    Here is my cunfigure.php file.
    Change the red parts to these red parts and try again
    Code:
    // NOTE: be sure to leave the trailing '/' at the end of these lines if you make changes!
    // * DIR_WS_* = Webserver directories (virtual/URL)
      // these paths are relative to top of your webspace ... (ie: under the public_html or httpdocs folder)
      define('DIR_WS_CATALOG', '/');
      define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', '/');

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    227
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving site from sub directory errors

    Hi,
    Tried that and it didnt work.
    However, I have just realised I wasn't in the root I was in...
    ftp://craftja1@craftjam.co.uk/public_html/

    I tried moving it all to the very root of
    ftp://craftja1@craftjam.co.uk/ and it didn't like that either

    I know I will be something completely stupid that I haven't realised I have done!

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Moving the site from a temporary directory..
    By hoosiercanuck in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22 Mar 2011, 02:00 AM
  2. Trouble moving site to a directory
    By giftmeister in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 13 Oct 2010, 01:50 PM
  3. moving directory
    By dapottster in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28 Aug 2009, 04:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •