Thread: index.html/php

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,895
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: index.html/php

    Quote Originally Posted by stevesh View Post
    If I navigate to http://www.poor-boys.co.za/index.php, I see the site, which suggests that file is there somewhere.
    Something is there for sure, but its not Zencart.

    Actually it looks like the page is just grabbing stuff from photobucket? No proper HTML formatting either (no head/body/)

    Cheers
    Rod

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,895
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: index.html/php

    Quote Originally Posted by Naz_newbie View Post
    Only problem is there are hundreds of product descriptions, pictures, prices etc in the store catalog. is there a way of saving these files so i dont have to redo this stuff from scratch and then copying into the new install.
    As long as you don't reinstall the database (or overwrite the image files) then doing a 'new install' will leave your existing data intact.

    Treat the 'new install' as though it were an upgrade.

    Cheers
    Rod

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: index.html/php

    Hi Rod

    like i said i am a newbie so probably i am the one who is confused not you :) And hopefully i AM looking in all the wrong places.
    in any case my /httpdocs file/directory structure looks almost exactly as you have listed above except that there is no httpdocs/index.php (except the one i created myself).
    I also do not have the last 2 items from your list but i do have whole lot more directories than you listed. 32 files and dirs in total under /httpdocs
    should i list the entire structure

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,895
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: index.html/php

    Quote Originally Posted by Naz_newbie View Post
    like i said i am a newbie so probably i am the one who is confused not you :)
    Or not.... newbies often do a very good at confusing me <g>

    Quote Originally Posted by Naz_newbie View Post
    And hopefully i AM looking in all the wrong places.
    From comments you made further on, I'm thinking you aren't going to be that lucky.

    Quote Originally Posted by Naz_newbie View Post
    in any case my /httpdocs file/directory structure looks almost exactly as you have listed above except that there is no httpdocs/index.php (except the one i created myself).
    I also do not have the last 2 items from your list but i do have whole lot more directories than you listed. 32 files and dirs in total under /httpdocs
    should i list the entire structure
    OK, no need to list the entire structure, being the root folder it wouldn't be too unusual to have a lot more folders in there. If you are only running zencart then the others probably aren't being used for anything, and with a little more experience you'll come to learn which ones you aren't using and will be able to safely delete them.

    Also, since I entered this thread I've only just noticed that you are apparently running Zencart V1.3.8, and that changes *everything*.

    The thing is, Zencart V1.3.8 has several known vulnerabilities that are being actively exploited, and the odds are high that this is the ultimate cause of your problem.

    You *could* try obtaining a copy of the original Zencart V1.3.8 distribution files and restoring the index.php from that, and if nothing else, it'll either work, or it will simply highlight other issues as a result of the potential hack, but ultimately you *MUST* update as soon as possible to the latest version.

    Your comments about what files/folders are in the /httpdocs folder suggest to me that things are basically where they should be (other than the missing file), so I think it is a waste of time following this particular path any further. It *was* worth a shot though.

    Simply replacing the missing file from the original .zip may or may not give a temporary fix, and personally I'd be inclined to try it just for grins (and to see what else is amiss). Nothing to lose (other than a little time), and it'll give you a little more exposure as to what to expect when things go right (or wrong), but again, it'll only be a temp fix, because if it is the result of a hack, they'll just be back within hours or days to destroy it all for you again..

    In short.. you need to upgrade no matter what.

    I wish I were able give better news.

    Cheers
    Rod

    ps. 1am where I am. I'm outa here for the night... good luck..
    Last edited by RodG; 17 Apr 2012 at 04:25 PM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: index.html/php

    well guess what. the site is up and working. simply copied the index.php from the install zip into /httpdocs exactly as you said and it is up as it was before. what i will do now is upgrade to the latest version but at least the darn thing is working. at least nothing else is amiss which makes my life much easier.
    thanks for the help guys.

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone know how to make index.html default instead of index.php?
    By msbettybebe in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23 May 2011, 04:01 PM
  2. index.html - index.php
    By crystaldreams in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6 Mar 2010, 02:49 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9 Oct 2007, 04:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •