Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Text not required

    Hi

    I have set up two text boxes one I need to be required for order details the other I need to be optional, not required. But no matter how I try I can't get the optional box to be 'not required', I have tried every combination in the attributes manager, when you click add to cart it needs user input.

    Am I missing something? Or is there a problem with my setup.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Regards

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    19,284
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Text not required

    A link to the page would help us figure it out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Text not required

    Hi

    Sorry, here's the link, I'm just setting up the stores so please forgive the layout

    http://www.vinyllettersandnumbers.co...&products_id=2

    Regards

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    19,284
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Text not required

    I'm getting User Input Required errors on both boxes even when I enter text in both. Can you switch temporarily to the Classic template and try it ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Text not required

    Hi

    I've just tried it with the classic template I've got both text boxes to not required and still get user input required.

    Thanks

    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66,834
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Text not required

    Could you check your text attributes and make sure that they are not marked as Display Only ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.1]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Text not required

    Hi

    No they're not set to display only.

    Thanks

    Mike

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Text not required

    Hi

    I've solved it, but don't know how it happened.

    I checked to see if the text areas were display only, which in the attribute manager they weren't. I then decided to check my database and noticed an attribute id35 which was set to display only, I changed this from 1 to 0 and everything is fine.

    On checking the attribute manager in the 3 products I've got none of the attributes has an id of 35?

    I did have one other product which I attached attributes to but I deleleted it, could this be a remnant from that?

    As I said solved, but a mystery.

    Thanks

    Mike

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66,834
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Text not required

    On that attribute id of 35, did the products_id match any of your products?

    Where there any other attributes that had the Display Only set that you could see via phpMyAdmin?
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.1]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Text not required

    Hi

    The product id it matched was id2, which is the link above.

    No other attributes were set to display only.

    I've attached 2 images to explain easier

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	attribute.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	7.2 KB 
ID:	10391


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	database.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	21.4 KB 
ID:	10392

    Thanks

    Mike

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. I do not get the Text Required Attribute??
    By svital in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13 Feb 2009, 06:20 PM
  2. Attribute required for text???
    By tpascubarat in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3 Jun 2008, 03:28 AM
  3. Attribute required for text
    By tpascubarat in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26 Jan 2008, 07:43 PM
  4. Text required for attribute
    By jeking in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5 Sep 2007, 10:54 PM
  5. Marking required text attribute fields with an * or (required)?
    By fepb in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3 Mar 2007, 07:54 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •