Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Install isn't showing up

    Hello,
    I've uploaded the files twice and set the security for the files and folders, and created a user with full security to everything, but the install never shows up when I go to the URL of my website. I am following the directions step by step (twice) but still the same results. When I go to the website the initialize of the install,doesn't take place - nothing happens. It looks like there is a border in back of my table on the page and there is also a cirlce with a slanted line though it in the upper left top of my web page - see attachment

    I am using this
    http://MyWebsitehttp/zen_cart/cart/zc_install

    or

    http://MyWebsitehttp/zen_cart/cart/zc_install/index.php

    The Web Server is a Linux O/S

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thank you,
    Kelly
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    9,954
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Install isn't showing up

    Quote Originally Posted by NonTyical View Post
    Hello,
    I've uploaded the files twice and set the security for the files and folders, and created a user with full security to everything, but the install never shows up when I go to the URL of my website. I am following the directions step by step (twice) but still the same results. When I go to the website the initialize of the install,doesn't take place - nothing happens. It looks like there is a border in back of my table on the page and there is also a cirlce with a slanted line though it in the upper left top of my web page - see attachment

    I am using this
    http://MyWebsitehttp/zen_cart/cart/zc_install

    or

    http://MyWebsitehttp/zen_cart/cart/zc_install/index.php

    The Web Server is a Linux O/S

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thank you,
    Kelly
    What sort of URL are you "masking" when you say: MyWebsitehttp ?

    When you FTP'd all the zencart folders and files to the server, where exactly did you LOCATE these files/folders?

    Typically (if you load everything in a SUB-DIRECTORY), the path would be:
    public_html/zencart/
    or
    public_html/cart/

    The URL's you give above suggest you are looking in the wrong place for your install file.
    Our latest project is Pet Tags.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Install isn't showing up

    Quote Originally Posted by schoolboy View Post
    What sort of URL are you "masking" when you say: MyWebsitehttp ?

    When you FTP'd all the zencart folders and files to the server, where exactly did you LOCATE these files/folders?

    Typically (if you load everything in a SUB-DIRECTORY), the path would be:
    public_html/zencart/
    or
    public_html/cart/

    The URL's you give above suggest you are looking in the wrong place for your install file.
    This was a mistake in my post, it was refering to mywebsite name and not MyWebsitehttp.

    When I FTP'd the zencart files, I located them at the root and not in the public_html folder. I called the folder \zen_cart\cart\ Maybe this is the problem?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Install isn't showing up

    Quote Originally Posted by NonTypical View Post
    This was a mistake in my post, it was refering to mywebsite name and not MyWebsitehttp.

    When I FTP'd the zencart files, I located them at the root and not in the public_html folder. I called the folder \zen_cart\cart\ Maybe this is the problem?
    I was able to get it by moving the zen_cart folder to the pulic_html

    Thank you for the help!

    Kelly

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    89
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Install isn't showing up

    I'm being really stupid here - please point out the obvious.

    I have a working zencart site already on 1.3.8 and I want to upgrade to 1.5.
    The first suggested step is to set up v1.5 in a demo folder so...

    Using my ftp program I can see the existing program folders - admin, cache, images etc. - are in my /httpdocs/ folder.

    I have uploaded v1.5 to /httpdocs/demo/ and the files (including zc_install) are in there.

    I thought I could run the install using:
    www.mywebsite.com/demo/zc_install
    but that just sends me to the front page of my existing site.
    What is my obvious mistake please?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    89
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Install isn't showing up

    I've got it working using:
    www.mywebsite.com/demo/zc_install/index.php
    Why did it not say that in the installation documentation?
    Ah well, it's ok now!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    59,806
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    133

    Default Re: Install isn't showing up

    Quote Originally Posted by Ousel View Post
    Why did it not say that in the installation documentation?
    Probably because you shouldn't need to add the /index.php if your server is actually working correctly.
    If you had to add it for zc_install then you'll probably also need to add it for your storefront and for your admin ... which means so will your customers, and you can't guarantee that they'll all be smart enough to guess that they'll need to do that.
    Thus the problem needs to be fixed with your hosting company's server configuration so that the server knows to treat the missing "index.php" as "index.php" automatically.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Home page, the welcome isn't showing up...
    By lilyc in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18 Jul 2007, 11:16 PM
  2. Pending orders isn't showing.
    By monkeytastic in forum Managing Customers and Orders
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6 Jun 2007, 03:48 PM
  3. Why isn't the install script working?
    By digidiva-kathy in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9 Jul 2006, 11:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •