Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Sunny Rossendale (not)
    Posts
    569
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    help question Uk Counties sql script for RoyalMail

    Has anyone used this just it's a bit old but would be very useful as I'm UK based and only trade in the UK. cheers
    What ever your doing remember to KISS ( Keep It Simple Stupid )

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    9,955
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Uk Counties sql script for RoyalMail

    Quote Originally Posted by discoverytdi View Post
    Has anyone used this just it's a bit old but would be very useful as I'm UK based and only trade in the UK. cheers
    Setting up for UK is more detailed than just doing this. While this will load the counties, there is more to proper UK configuration. EG: DATE FORMATTING ... ZC formats MM/DD/YYYY. In the UK we use DD/MM/YYYY. WEIGHT FORMAT: ZC uses LBS as the default. In the UK we use KG (important for shipping). SPELLING CONVENTIONS: USA uses odd spellings (as we all know) - "catalog" instead of "catalogue", "check" instead of "cheque", "color" instead of "colour"...

    And there are other UK formatting issues as well... eg: Zones Definitions and UK VAT

    Simply loading the counties does not address these other issues.

    There is a UK TEMPLATE by Kev Polley, but it is not compatible with ZC1.5 (we have upgraded our copy of it, but I cannot make this available to others, because it is Kev's software).

    This "UK Template" will create ALL the necessary UK configurations (date, spelling, counties, regions, UK VAT... )The LOT...

    ... BUT... it needs to be installed at the SAME TIME as a primary install, because it does INITIAL dbase configurations as well as file over-rides.

    When used, it saves HUGE amounts of time, because doing all this manually (via admin and php edits) takes about 5 - 6 hours.
    Our latest project is Pet Tags.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Sunny Rossendale (not)
    Posts
    569
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: Uk Counties sql script for RoyalMail

    Thanks for that, thought it would be the case having us state/province and the like bugs the hell out of me plus having to remeber that the Americans cant spull
    What ever your doing remember to KISS ( Keep It Simple Stupid )

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. SQL Script help
    By barnswallace in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20 Dec 2009, 03:20 AM
  2. UK counties instead for US on create account
    By SteveCollins in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1 Nov 2006, 08:25 PM
  3. SQL Script
    By Berserker in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27 Jul 2006, 02:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •