Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    36
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Updated Site logo not updating on browser

    So I changed my logo in the top left of the page. Initially I had it pretty big which was 800 x 300 pixels. My logo designer finally finished my logo which is 220 x 60 pixels which was uploaded to the site using the same filename logo.gif.

    The problem I have is that the only way to make it show is to clear the firefox cache. Some of my customers are emailing to let me know that there is a void in the space between the logo and header. I told them to clear the cache but some cannot as they need their cache for other purposes.

    Is their a css or code to put inside to force refresh the new log and layout being displayed correctly?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    19,667
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Updated Site logo not updating on browser

    A link to the site would help.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    36
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Updated Site logo not updating on browser

    K I think I figured it out. I changed the name of my css stylesheet by adding "1" at the end. This forced firefox to grab the new stylesheet with the changed margins.

    Is this the proper way to do it when changing the css stylesheet?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,151
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Updated Site logo not updating on browser

    Press shift+ctrl+r

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    36
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Updated Site logo not updating on browser

    Quote Originally Posted by dgent View Post
    Press shift+ctrl+r
    Yes, that would work for me as the person updating the website. But for my customers who don't know when the site is updated, they will see the page as formatted wrong with extra spaces all over the place.

    Changing the css name fixed it , but I was asking more on the lines of would it cause my website to function differently by just renaming the stylesheet. I guess its wait and see for what my customers say.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,151
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Updated Site logo not updating on browser

    It will eventually update for them after a couple of page changes if they have already visited your site. If they are a new visitor they will only see your new CSS.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Images are not updating after being uploaded to my Site... Help!
    By sym3try in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8 May 2012, 09:36 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25 Apr 2012, 06:11 PM
  3. Site not updating immediately after changes
    By darkmarauder in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8 Aug 2010, 12:51 AM
  4. mega_tags.php updated but not showing on browser
    By mrrcomp in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14 Jul 2009, 06:26 AM
  5. Define Pages not updating Site View
    By Bob88Vette in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25 Jun 2009, 06:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •