Plugin Contributions

Default cannot launch zc_instal on remote server; identical config works on local server

I am a retired computer science teacher helping a friend with her web store and thought installing the Zen Cart 1.5 upgrade would be much easier than installing the original 1.3.9 since my knowledge of Zen Cart is much greater. It has turned into a nightmare.

A couple of years ago I gave up when installing version 1.3.9 and paid for someone to use Fantastico to install.

This time, I am determined to do it myself without Fantastico. I followed the upgrade instructions and did all file comparisons, etc. I set up several "stores" on my local server (Aztec) with absolute success: I first installed the 1.3.9 "store" downloaded from the remote server and worked from there. I upgraded to 1.5 following the upgrade instructions. It took forever to compare all files! All was a total success. The site is up and running 1.5 on my local server without a hitch.

I put together the successful file structure, updated the configure files and uploaded all files to the public_html directory on the remote Aztec server. I verified the requirements to be acceptable. I then attempted to launch zc_install via my web browser: http://www.sitename.com/zc_install. I received an "Internal Server Error" with a 404 file not found error.

I used an info.php file to test public_html access using http://www.sitename.com/public_html/info.php to reach it. No problem. I placed the file in the zc_install directory and attempted to reach it from my web browser: http://www.sitename.com/zc_install/info.php and received the same Internal Server Error.

------------------------------------------------------
    Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.