Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    52
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Fresh install of 1.5 using database from 1.3.8

    So i have my site up and running for a few years using 1.3.8, it is what I first "learned" zen on and I did a horrible job of making it upgradable.

    Now I am starting a fresh install of 1.5 with the intent of doing it right this time.

    So far I am beginning the install in a fresh folder called www.midwestnotebooks.com/2012

    I downloaded the full version of zen and uploaded to the folder 2012

    I followed the installer with the intent to use my existing database.

    I input the database name, password, etc and the installer accepted the database and appeared to have connected with no issues however when I access the fresh install no products are shown?

    What have I done wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    60,711
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    149

    Default Re: Fresh install of 1.5 using database from 1.3.8

    A "fresh install" will delete any data that's already in the database you point it to, since it is treating an "install" as a "new" install.

    If you select "database upgrade" then it will upgrade the data in that is in the existing database.

    So, you will need to:
    a) import the backup copy of your old database
    b) and then re-run zc_install and choose database-upgrade (instead of "install") when prompted.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Vic, Oz
    Posts
    1,687
    Plugin Contributions
    5

    Default Re: Fresh install of 1.5 using database from 1.3.8

    Quote Originally Posted by plsony View Post
    I followed the installer with the intent to use my existing database.

    I input the database name, password, etc and the installer accepted the database and appeared to have connected with no issues however when I access the fresh install no products are shown?

    What have I done wrong?
    I hope you DIDN'T use your EXISTING database as you will wipe it out.
    Make a COPY of your existing database and use that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    52
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Fresh install of 1.5 using database from 1.3.8

    Thanks, I will give it a try and report back later.
    However, it did not wipe out my database as all products and customers are still working at midwestnotebooks.com

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. help with fresh install using a backup
    By ben harry in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18 Aug 2011, 10:48 PM
  2. Fresh install using existing database?
    By absoluteblock in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20 Nov 2008, 10:31 AM
  3. Fresh Install w/ Database Upgrade
    By audradh in forum Upgrading from 1.2 to 1.3.x
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 23 Jan 2007, 03:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •