Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    70
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Product Won't Entirely copy over when using Duplicate

    I use the copy/duplicate feature a lot and since i have done the upgrade when I try to copy or duplicate a product the name is the Only thing that actually copies over. this is the only last thing that has shown up in my console and i recopied the collect_info.php file over from the original

    [26-Aug-2012 09:45:05] PHP Warning: htmlspecialchars() [function.htmlspecialchars]: Invalid multibyte sequence in argument in /home/user/mysite/myrenamed-admin/includes/modules/product/collect_info.php on line 401
    not sure if the two were related but putting the new collect_info.php file didn't fix my copying over problem.

    any one know the fix to this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,154
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: Product Won't Entirely copy over when using Duplicate

    Sounds like you have the problem of changing character sets with the upgrade. http://www.zen-cart.com/content.php?...8859-1-to-utf8.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    70
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Won't Entirely copy over when using Duplicate

    I did everything on the link and unfortunately still everything copies over except for the description.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    70
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Won't Entirely copy over when using Duplicate

    Anyone have any other reccomendations?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,154
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: Product Won't Entirely copy over when using Duplicate

    I think you need to investigate the UTF-8 versus ISO-8859-1 situation. If you are set to use UTF-8 and htmlspecialchars() is not set to that as well, you will get the error you're getting.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    70
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Won't Entirely copy over when using Duplicate

    so i found this in the functions_general.php its the only file that has any UTF8 written in it.

    PHP Code:
    convert supplied string to UTF-8dropping any symbols which cannot be translated easily
     
    useful for submitting cleaned-up data to payment gateways or other external servicesesp if the data was copy+pasted from windows docs via windows browser to store in database
     
    *
     * @
    param string $string
     
    */
      function 
    charsetConvertWinToUtf8($string) {
        if (
    function_exists('iconv')) $string iconv("Windows-1252""ISO-8859-1//IGNORE"$string);
        
    $string htmlentities($stringENT_QUOTES'UTF-8');
        return 
    $string;
      }

    /**
     * Convert supplied string to/from entities between charsets, to sanitize data from payment gateway
     * @param $string
     * @return string
     */
      
    function charsetClean($string) {
        if (
    CHARSET == 'UTF-8') return $string;
        if (
    function_exists('iconv')) $string iconv("Windows-1252"CHARSET "//IGNORE"$string);
        
    $string htmlentities($stringENT_QUOTES'UTF-8');
        
    $string html_entity_decode($stringENT_QUOTESCHARSET);
        return 
    $string;
      } 

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Product Won't Entirely copy over when using Duplicate

    Those functions are unrelated.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Product Won't Entirely copy over when using Duplicate

    Since you haven't answered the questions asked in the Posting Tips, I'll ask a bunch directly instead, plus some more:
    What's your PHP version?
    What addons do you have installed?
    How exactly did you "upgrade"?
    What is the CHARSET defined to in your admin english.php file? Is it defined in any other files in your admin?
    What is the DB_CHARSET in your configure.php files?
    What's the collation set to on your products_description table? and also on the products_description field inside that table?
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v150 BULK copy functionality using the "Duplicate Product" "Copy Method"
    By Zean in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28 Jun 2012, 12:57 AM
  2. Make Duplicate Product the default copy method
    By rebelIT in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21 Sep 2011, 09:15 AM
  3. Duplicate Product Names when not using images
    By TijerasGirl in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29 Jan 2010, 06:20 AM
  4. Duplicate payments when using Realex module?
    By Cally in forum Addon Payment Modules
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 1 Dec 2009, 01:26 AM
  5. Local copy. Problems copy subdirs over.
    By bakerman in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24 Sep 2007, 07:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR