Default Creating a knowledgebase

Hi,

I searched the forum but can't find any addons etc... for adding a functional knowledgebase to a Zen Cart site. I have downloaded the FAQ Manager addon and are going to try and modify it to work as a knowledgebase. There are just 2 things that i am struggling with:

On each product page and each category page, I would like to have a sidebox with links to relevant articles related to that product/category. Now, i could create a new sidebox for each product/category however that will mean creating a lot of sideboxes. I'm not too good with coding, but i'm thinking i just need to create one sidebox and put plenty of if statements in there. For example, if page is Product A show article XYZ...... if page is Product B show article XXY and XXM..... if page is Product C or Category D show article NUJ...... and these statements will have a nice link to click which will go to the relevant page. I just don't know what code i would require for this? I suppose the easiest way would be to have a dropdown in the admin on the product page/ category page where i can choose which articles are related to that product/category, however i'm thinking this would be even harder coding?

My second problem is creating a search engine for the knowledgebase, however i am pretty sure this might be a lot of work. I will probably look at the default Zen search engine and try and modify it, but any pointers would be great.

My site is www.drgreens.co.uk

Any help would be really great.

Thanks

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Creating a knowledgebase

I would create a new database entry for the faqs to "tag" or assign them to a category, then one box with a filter

~Melanie
    PRO-Webs, Inc. :: Recent Zen Cart Projects :: Zen Cart SEO – 12 Steps to Success
    **I answer questions in the forum, private messages are NOT answered. You are welcome to contact us via our website for professional engagements.