Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    21
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Add a subcategory

    Hi ,I have a category for example(Tops) and uploaded the product online. I would like to add a sub category to this category
    How do I do this. Please help! Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Bedford, England
    Posts
    951
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Add a subcategory

    Quote Originally Posted by Chicky View Post
    Hi ,I have a category for example(Tops) and uploaded the product online. I would like to add a sub category to this category
    How do I do this. Please help! Thanks
    Click on the category Tops, and instead of creating a new product, create category.
    Phil Rogers
    A problem shared is a problem solved.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    21
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Add a subcategory

    Hi, thank-you for your response.

    I tried this but when I click the category "tops" there is no "new category" button
    Only the" new products" button instead .Thanks
    Do you have any other suggestions?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Bedford, England
    Posts
    951
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Add a subcategory

    have you added products to the category Tops already?

    if so thats why. within a category you can ony have one or the other so if you added products the category creation button will dissapear
    Phil Rogers
    A problem shared is a problem solved.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    21
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Add a subcategory

    Hi ,thank-you for your reply.
    Much appreciated . Yes I have added a product.
    Is there any way to fix this issue? Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    19,618
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Add a subcategory

    It's not something that needs 'fixing'. While there is a way to force a category to accept both products and subcategories, doing so can cause strange display problems that can't be fixed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    21
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Add a subcategory

    Hi ,thanks for the reply,
    But Is there any way to add the subcategory in my situation?thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    67,425
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Add a subcategory

    You could create you SubCategory at the Top level then move it into the Category you want it in and then Move the Product(s) into your new SubCategory ...

    NOTE: this is a work around just to allow you to get your SubCategory into the Top level Category that you want it in and get the Product(s) out of that Category and into SubCategories ...

    Do NOT leave Products and Categories in a Category as Categories are meant to hold Categories or Products and never both at the same time ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.3]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,001
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Add a subcategory

    But if you added your products before making any categories at all... you are pretty much stuck. You will have to delete the products so you can create categories and then reimport the products. There may be a way around this with advanced database manipulation but I wouldn't try any such thing without expert guidance (like Ajeh's).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    21
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Add a subcategory

    Thank-you for your advice.
    I will try that.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. No option to Add Subcategory
    By eliciacw in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19 Dec 2009, 03:16 PM
  2. add descriptions under each subcategory on subcategory index?
    By vandiermen in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 Oct 2009, 09:25 PM
  3. add another dropdown / subcategory
    By melindaf in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10 Aug 2009, 12:43 PM
  4. How Can I Add SubCategory?
    By jibon in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1 Dec 2008, 04:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •