Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    178
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    application error Moving servers causing error on Index.php

    I've recently moved servers from a shared hosting to a VPS on BlueHost.
    I uploaded the files to the new server and imported my MySQL backup.
    But, when I go to my domain, I get the raw code from the index.php page.

    Code:
    <?php
    /**
     * index.php represents the hub of the Zen Cart MVC system
     * 
     * Overview of flow
     * <ul>
     * <li>Load application_top.php - see {@tutorial initsystem}</li>
     * <li>Set main language directory based on $_SESSION['language']</li>
     * <li>Load all *header_php.php files from includes/modules/pages/PAGE_NAME/</li>
     * <li>Load html_header.php (this is a common template file)</li>
     * <li>Load main_template_vars.php (this is a common template file)</li>
     * <li>Load on_load scripts (page based and site wide)</li>
     * <li>Load tpl_main_page.php (this is a common template file)</li>
     * <li>Load application_bottom.php</li>
     * </ul>
    Etc, etc...

    Can anyone point me in the right direction to get this fixed?

    Thanks,
    Rick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    2,696
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Moving servers causing error on Index.php

    there is more than likely a problem with your apache configuration. apache is not interpreting your script as a php script. it is just serving it as a straight text file.

    you might want to first check if your server has php loaded on it... look in:

    /etc/apache/apache.conf

    and look for something similar to:

    LoadModule php5_module modules/libphp5.so

    i am not an apache expert by any stretch, but that is where i would begin...

    good luck!
    author of square Webpay.
    mxWorks has premium plugins. donations: venmo or paypal accepted.
    premium consistent excellent support. available for hire.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6,167
    Plugin Contributions
    7

    Default Re: Moving servers causing error on Index.php

    Quote Originally Posted by RFree190 View Post
    Can anyone point me in the right direction to get this fixed?
    From the command line on the server please enter the following commands (one at a time)

    apachectl -M | grep php
    and
    apachectl -M | grep mime

    If you see outputs like
    php5_module (shared)
    and
    mime_module (shared)

    It means we need to dig deeper.

    If the commands return with no output at all it means that you need to install the modules.

    What operating system is you VPS using? Centos, Debian, Ubuntu, windows? Other.

    Cheers
    RodG

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Moving servers causing error on Index.php

    Quote Originally Posted by RFree190 View Post
    I've recently moved servers from a shared hosting to a VPS on BlueHost.
    Fastest fix is to contact Bluehost, to get their assistance with properly provisioning the VPS ... even if you've not paid for managed services.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    178
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving servers causing error on Index.php

    My best guess is that the VPS is running PHP. I have another domain on the same VPS running ZenCart with no problem.
    I'll be trying the other suggestions too, along with contact BlueHost for support.

    Thanks for the assistance!
    Rick

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6,167
    Plugin Contributions
    7

    Default Re: Moving servers causing error on Index.php

    Quote Originally Posted by RFree190 View Post
    My best guess is that the VPS is running PHP
    Guessing should be last resort, not the 1st step to a diagnosis.

    Quote Originally Posted by RFree190 View Post
    I have another domain on the same VPS running ZenCart with no problem.
    That narrows things down a LOT.

    Not enough to make a diagnosis though.

    My current line of thought is now down to folder or file permissions. However, this assumes that all other configs are correct.

    Quote Originally Posted by RFree190 View Post
    I'll be trying the other suggestions too, along with contact BlueHost for support.
    Hmmm, interesting. The 1st suggestion was a matter of what the postee would do. I somewhat expanded on this, and gave a couple of specific *tests* for you to perform, so that you could report your results so we can move forward. I also asked a couple of other questions. I didn't actually 'suggest' anything that would or could invoke a fix, the only other suggestion being to contact your host.

    In short, there are/were no other 'suggestions' to follow.

    The questions and tests designed to take the guesswork out of the equation have been ignored.
    The remaining question has been unanswered, and typically, at this stage I'd be asking other, more pertinent questions, based on this new revelation that you have a working ZenCart on the VPS.

    I don't see much point in asking them now though, because I'm sure that they will go unanswered as you go your own merry way anyway.

    Bluehost support is pretty much your only option - At least they are in a position to actually test/check things, whereas everyone else has to depend on you doing the same test/checks and reporting your findings before we can move forward. Without your feedback we are completely in the dark still. Bluehost is therefore your only hope (other than self diagnosis). This is not a Zencart issue, but it isn't a server issue either (else the other install wouldn't be working), so I'm guessing that unless they see something really 'obvious', they are going to pass the buck back to you (I hope I'm wrong) - and I don't know where you'll go from there 'cos I for one am no longer interested walking you through the diagnostic process.

    Cheers
    RodG

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    178
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Moving servers causing error on Index.php

    Thanks for your reply RodG. ( And Carl and DrByte)
    Seemed to me there were three suggestions to try. Check for PHP, your suggestion and DrBytes suggestion to contact my host.
    Seems like I figured out successfully that PHP was running correctly on my server. I don't work with Shell access or at the root of my server very well, so I was a little hesitant to try those suggestions, so I took DrByte's advice next and went to my host for help. Turns out, it was a simple slash in my configure.php file that was causing all the trouble. The file worked correctly on my shared hosting, but moving it to my VPS, it stopped.

    I'm back up and running. Sorry if I took you away from more pressing needs to try and help a stuck zenner.

    Cheers back at ya!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Moving index.php
    By DesignLessDesign in forum General Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18 Nov 2010, 06:57 PM
  2. Error After Moving Servers - Please Help
    By atlantisphoto in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2 Feb 2008, 02:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR