Thread: AWS hosting?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Default AWS hosting?

We have ZenCart on an old dedicated server running RedHat, and now looking at AWS as a possibility as a new hosting provider. However I'm new to AWS and confused by all the options. For those using AWS to host ZenCart, which OS do you prefer? How do you configure the software on AWS (via SSH console or some other method?) What are these options such as t2.micro, m3.large, etc.? This cloud hosting world is new and unfamiliar coming from my experience managing a dedicated server.

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: AWS hosting?

We just started migrating to AWS. I purchased a Lightsail instance with WHM/cPanel installed. It functions just like my old dedicated server. So far, in limited testing, it's just as fast and slightly cheaper.

Plugin Contributions

Great to hear they are offering this bundle. Please keep us posted.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Support
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

Plugin Contributions

Quote Originally Posted by ChuckPhillips View Post
    We just started migrating to AWS. I purchased a Lightsail instance with WHM/cPanel installed. It functions just like my old dedicated server. So far, in limited testing, it's just as fast and slightly cheaper.
    i'm a big fan of linode. it seems their pricing is comparable to AWS lightsail:

https://www.linode.com/pricing/#:~:t...ual%20Machines

https://aws.amazon.com/lightsail/pricing/

how much extra does the WHM/cPanel run? i have never had a need for those as it's easier for me to just run things from the command line.

i'm also a big fan of using debian for hosting.

best.
    author of square Webpay.
    mxWorks has premium plugins. donations: venmo or paypal accepted.
    premium consistent excellent support. available for hire.