Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Help setting up virtual hosts

    I attempted to follow this tutorial but it didn't work.
    https://www.tutorialspoint.com/how-t...erver-on-linux
    I transfered all files form my Zen Cart download, extracted to /var/www/html and renamed folder Zentest, because I am working on a test site.
    My project is to install my same local setup on a droplet from Digital Ocean and develop several ZC sites.
    Bu I need to master virtual hosting for that.
    Please ask me what I did to mess up this first virtual hosting attempt.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    2,696
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Quote Originally Posted by ckosloff View Post
    I attempted to follow this tutorial but it didn't work.
    https://www.tutorialspoint.com/how-t...erver-on-linux
    I transfered all files form my Zen Cart download, extracted to /var/www/html and renamed folder Zentest, because I am working on a test site.
    My project is to install my same local setup on a droplet from Digital Ocean and develop several ZC sites.
    Bu I need to master virtual hosting for that.
    Please ask me what I did to mess up this first virtual hosting attempt.
    if you are running debian and apache2, you need to create virtual hosts config files; and they should be in:

    /etc/apache2/sites-available/

    that link seems to indicate as such. it also tells you how to enable each config file with the a2ensite command.

    i would run:

    sudo apachectl configtest

    that will tell you if your config is correct.

    to solve any problem, one needs to look at log files. and to look at them you need to find them. in debian and running apache2, they should be here:

    /var/log/apache2/

    if you have overridden your log files, they could be somewhere else; and that location would be in your config file created above.

    your log files will tell you where you can find your problems.

    start with the config test. if you get the syntax OK response, then look at the log files. if you do not get the syntax OK, correct the errors the configtest reports.

    good luck.
    author of square Webpay.
    mxWorks has premium plugins. donations: venmo or paypal accepted.
    premium consistent excellent support. available for hire.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Old Hickory TN
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Zen cart has been working great for years, I was prompted to change my password I did that but now when I login I get all the info how the setup Zen cart when I used to login I got the page where my order with all the details were placed from my website, I can't get that page to open.

    HELP

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Old Hickory TN
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    THIS IS TO COMPLICATED, I NED TO TALK TO A TECK, EVERYTHING I HAVE TRIED FAILS. I NEED TO LOGIN O ZEN CART GRT MY INFO PAGE SHOWING MY ORDER FROM MY WEBSITE ( SHIP INFO, CREDI CARD INFO AND SO ON) HOW DO i DO THIS

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,240
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Quote Originally Posted by doggie View Post
    Zen cart has been working great for years, I was prompted to change my password I did that but now when I login I get all the info how the setup Zen cart when I used to login I got the page where my order with all the details were placed from my website, I can't get that page to open.

    HELP
    I don't think this is related to this thread. To get help it would be best if you start a new thread and include the pertinent information asked for in the Posting Tips.
    Simon

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    AH00558: apache2: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified d
    omain name, using 127.0.1.1. Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppr
    ess this message
    Syntax OK
    This says that problem is not with apache, I think that it is wrong setup of file in sites-available.
    Will do a few tries.
    Thank you very much for kind support.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Code:
    I think that error arises from sites-available:
    <VirtualHost *:80>
        # The ServerName directive sets the request scheme, hostname and port that
        # the server uses to identify itself. This is used when creating
        # redirection URLs. In the context of virtual hosts, the ServerName
        # specifies what hostname must appear in the request's Host: header to
        # match this virtual host. For the default virtual host (this file) this
        # value is not decisive as it is used as a last resort host regardless.
        # However, you must set it for any further virtual host explicitly.
        #ServerName www.example.com
    
        ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost
            ServerName Zentest.com
        DocumentRoot /var/www/html
    
        # Available loglevels: trace8, ..., trace1, debug, info, notice, warn,
        # error, crit, alert, emerg.
        # It is also possible to configure the loglevel for particular
        # modules, e.g.
        #LogLevel info ssl:warn
    
        ErrorLog ${APACHE_LOG_DIR}/error.log
        CustomLog ${APACHE_LOG_DIR}/access.log combined
    
        # For most configuration files from conf-available/, which are
        # enabled or disabled at a global level, it is possible to
        # include a line for only one particular virtual host. For example the
        # following line enables the CGI configuration for this host only
        # after it has been globally disabled with "a2disconf".
        #Include conf-available/serve-cgi-bin.conf
    </VirtualHost>
    
    # vim: syntax=apache ts=4 sw=4 sts=4 sr noet
    I think that Document Root line is wrong, by the way I renamed folder in /var/www/html to Zentest.com , it used to be just Zentest, mismatch of names, version is 1.5.7d.

    And this is /etc/hosts, not sure about my syntax there.
    Code:
    127.0.0.1localhost 
    127.0.1.1crosshair 
    
    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1     localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback 
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes 
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters 
    192.168.1.84 Zentest.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    After
    Code:
    a2ensite Zentest.com
    still not working

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    2,696
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Quote Originally Posted by ckosloff View Post
    After
    Code:
    a2ensite Zentest.com
    still not working
    when you say it is not working, i'm really not sure what you mean.

    you said that you were getting a droplet from digital ocean. did you get that? is that the server where these configuration files are?

    if i were to ping zentest.com, the response back is from something called hover:

    PING zentest.com (216.40.34.41) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from url.hover.com (216.40.34.41): icmp_seq=1 ttl=45 time=90.2 ms
    64 bytes from url.hover.com (216.40.34.41): icmp_seq=2 ttl=45 time=86.8 ms
    64 bytes from url.hover.com (216.40.34.41): icmp_seq=3 ttl=45 time=86.4 ms
    64 bytes from url.hover.com (216.40.34.41): icmp_seq=4 ttl=45 time=87.2 ms
    64 bytes from url.hover.com (216.40.34.41): icmp_seq=5 ttl=45 time=86.7 ms

    i do not think hover is part of your setup.... unless i am missing something.

    apache may be running and it may serve up the correct web pages, but is anything getting routed to your droplet?

    is there anything in:

    /var/log/apache2/access.log
    or
    /var/log/apache2/error.log

    sysadmin takes a little bit of work.

    best.
    author of square Webpay.
    mxWorks has premium plugins. donations: venmo or paypal accepted.
    premium consistent excellent support. available for hire.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Code:
    ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost 
            ServerName Zentest.com 
            SeverAlias www.Zentest.com 
    DocumentRoot /var/www/html/Zentest.com


    configtest reports that line with ServerAlias is incorrect, maybe because of the uppercase?
    WIll check logs.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Canada Post - problem with mixed virtual and non-virtual products?
    By Franck69 in forum Addon Shipping Modules
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27 Jul 2008, 10:31 PM
  2. No Shipping Option When Combo of Virtual and Non-Virtual Products
    By lakewebworks in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12 Nov 2007, 06:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR