Page 3 of 46 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 451
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2,420
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    Quote Originally Posted by dreamscape
    The only thing that I can think that would make that happen is if you are including the news_summary.php multiple times. Are you sure that you have not accidentally placed its call inside of a loop?
    I. My face is red. It was inside the loop. Thanks for the hint.

    II. Also thanks for the updated code to help prevent comment spamming. I have yet to implement but will soon.

    III. Also I found the optional news archive sidebox did not include a class for "sideBoxContent". So I added by editing tpl_news_archive.php as follows:

    Code:
        $content = '<div class="sideBoxContent">';
        $content .= '<div class="newsArchiveSideBox">';
    
    	$newsDisplay = new newsDisplay();
    
    	foreach ($newsArchiveList as $archive) {
    		$newsDisplay->articleFooter(sprintf(BOX_NEWS_ARCHIVE_TEXT_ARCHIVE_LIST_HEADER, $archive['archiveDate']), $archive['archiveLinks'], false, false, false);
    	}
    
    	$content .= $newsDisplay->displayNewsPage(false);
    
      $content .= '</div>';
      $content .= '</div>';
    IV. Also I would like to rid of the first clearSplit in the news archive sidebox to rid of extra whitespace between the year (e.g. 2006) and the top sidebox image. Anyone have a quick fix?

    I see the source of clearSplit is the newsDisplay() function within news.php class file. That function also renders all the other news pages so unsure how to adapt for sidebox without negatively impacting display of the news pages. I figure I might need to write another function specific to the sidebox in the class file (to drop the clearSplits) and call it from tpl_news_archive.php. But I don't yet have enough PHP knowledge yet to decipher tpl_news_archive.php

    Woody

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2,420
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    Quote Originally Posted by dreamscape
    No the setting is not to show 7 days of news. It is to show the news summary if there has been news in the past XX [7 by default] days. So if you don't post anything for a week, then the summary will stop showing up. And it only shows for the last news day, only a summary of the top most entry.

    If you want something different, you will have to code it.
    If anyone is thinking of doing this please PM me.

    I'm not sure if I have the coding chops but I'm thinking of taking a swipe at enabling so admin can set the number of days to display articles in summary, and set the number of articles that can be displayed.

    Similar to what the "News Manager" mod supports.

    Also a sidebox displaying a dynamic list of the latest article titles (but not a scroller sidebox, but that optional sidebox could be used as a basis).

    Again similar to what the "News Manager" mod supports.

    Woody
    Last edited by Woodymon; 25 May 2006 at 02:47 PM.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Helsinki
    Posts
    570
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    why doesn't my browser display an rss icon in my news page. and I cannot subscribe to the rss

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    573
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    how do i get rid of the duplate bredcrumb for the news contrib

    ir what file do i have to edit?

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    33,715
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    remove the breadcrumb from the news templates

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    573
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    Quote Originally Posted by Kim
    remove the breadcrumb from the news templates
    done thanks

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Helsinki
    Posts
    570
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    Hi despite the long efforts of understanding loops and php I really couldnt do it. I'd just like to list all the news on one page and have a rss feed for it. no complicated archives or irritating links to every single post. If anyone can help it would be really appreciated. or if anyone has some other contribution in mind let me know

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    626
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    Hello all,

    This is a brill mod. I have been using this from 1.27 upwards. I upgraded to 1.301, and noticed a difference on the new.php page. Example is below:-

    http://www.thegemtree.com/index.php?main_page=news

    On the first article, I had entered a summary image which doesn't seem to show. The second article is purposely concise for now. Also, several lines appear below each article which are not part of the admin-side entry. I noticed that nobody else mentioned anything like this, so I don't know if this is just exclusive to my site.

    If not, I wonder if it is just a case of amending new.php file?

    Many thanks,

    Russ

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    1,410
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    I'm using this with 1.3. I would like to wrap a div around the entire news template (it needs a little padding). However, I've looked at the tpl files and they are a different format than the rest of zen and I can;t seem to figure out how to do it.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: News & Article Management

    Quote Originally Posted by voltage
    I'm using this with 1.3. I would like to wrap a div around the entire news template (it needs a little padding). However, I've looked at the tpl files and they are a different format than the rest of zen and I can;t seem to figure out how to do it.
    hi, I think I have had the same padding issue in 1.3 , but used
    Code:
    td { padding: 0.5em; }
    as a workaround

    cheers

 

 
Page 3 of 46 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. News & Article Management
    By akumi in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13 May 2008, 03:27 PM
  2. Regarding News & Article Management
    By akumi in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12 May 2008, 05:27 PM
  3. News & Article Management- couple small problems
    By chufty bill in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26 Oct 2006, 09:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR