Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54
  1. #1

    Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    Hi
    I am just wondering how to change from pounds to grams/kilograms because im am located in Australia?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Southport, UK
    Posts
    4,181
    Plugin Contributions
    13

    Default Re: Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    Have you tried the Search facility?

    The way to check is to go to admin>tools>developers toolkit and type in "lb" at the bottom left field and then select all catalog/admin files. Then edit the files and stick them in your override directories.

    And yes, one day, this probably will be switchable in admin!
    The JSWeb Team
    www.JSWeb.uk
    PCI Compliant Host Provider (UK/IRELAND) - ZenCart Specialists

  3. #3

    Default Re: Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    Hi thanks Ryk,
    I have changed it to KGs,
    to change it u need to modify these files:

    /admin/includes/languages/english.php
    Line #570 : define('TEXT_PRODUCT_WEIGHT_UNIT','lbs');

    /includes/languages/english.php
    Line #376 : define('TEXT_PRODUCT_WEIGHT_UNIT','lbs');
    Line #379 : define('TEXT_SHIPPING_WEIGHT','lbs');

    /includes/languages/english/modules/shipping/zones.php
    Line #25 : define('MODULE_SHIPPING_ZONES_TEXT_UNITS', 'lb(s)');


    Thanks for the Help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    10,655
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    Quote Originally Posted by tekfix
    to change it u need to modify these files ...
    Spot on. Apart from in the USPS shipping module (which implicitly assumes lbs) weight is just a label for display, though if you use a different scale you may also want to check the "maximum package weight you will ship" variable in the Admin > configuration > shipping/packaging menu (especially if you swicth to grams!)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    Thank you so much for that, has made my life so much easier :)
    vegan nut free eco friendly skin care
    skinessence australia

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Broken Hill - NSW
    Posts
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    Quote Originally Posted by tekfix View Post
    Hi thanks Ryk,
    I have changed it to KGs,
    to change it u need to modify these files:

    /admin/includes/languages/english.php
    Line #570 : define('TEXT_PRODUCT_WEIGHT_UNIT','lbs');

    /includes/languages/english.php
    Line #376 : define('TEXT_PRODUCT_WEIGHT_UNIT','lbs');
    Line #379 : define('TEXT_SHIPPING_WEIGHT','lbs');

    /includes/languages/english/modules/shipping/zones.php
    Line #25 : define('MODULE_SHIPPING_ZONES_TEXT_UNITS', 'lb(s)');


    Thanks for the Help
    May i ask to what version of Zen Cart does this apply to as the line numbers dont add up to my Version 1.3.7

    Paul

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    It does not matter what the line numbers are, just look for the same code.

    Im stunned that ZenCart only include lbs. The US is NOT the only country in the world!
    Considering the ease of use over other carts, you would think it would be just common sense to put an option in the config settings where you can select KGs. So so so logical to do this! Grhhhh.....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    10,655
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    Actually Zen Cart is way ahead of most carts on this point. Instead of simplistically building a switch into the Admin to offer the standard lbs, kg and g, it allows you to use any weight units you like. So if you wanted to offer units in tonnes or milligrams or carats or Zogian rogulles, you can.

    And moreover, if you want to describe your everyday kilograms as kg in one language but kilo to a visitor in a different language - you can do that too.
    See and test drive Zen Cart's free templates at zencarttemplates.info

    Kuroi Web Design and Development | Twitter

    (Questions answered in the forum only - so that any forum member can benefit - not by personal message)

  9. #9

    Default Re: Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    if you change those three files that works great. Tho, only 2 seem to be in custom folders. will they not be overwritten when we upgrade?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    48
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Changing Weight from Pounds to Kilos

    ZC 1.3.7 :)

    /admin/includes/languages/english.php
    Line #569 : define('TEXT_PRODUCT_WEIGHT_UNIT','lbs');

    /includes/languages/english.php

    Line #392 : define('TEXT_PRODUCT_WEIGHT_UNIT','lbs');

    Line #395 : define('TEXT_SHIPPING_WEIGHT','lbs');

    /includes/languages/english/modules/shipping/zones.php

    Line #25 : define('MODULE_SHIPPING_ZONES_TEXT_UNITS', 'lb(s)');

    Well this is what I found in my cart anyway.

    I have installed ZC 1.3.7 with the following additional modules.

    IH2.0
    MySQL database backup
    stock with attributes 4.5
    AustPost Improved.

    Hope this helps someone else.

    DAVE

    :)
    Last edited by DrByte; 27 Oct 2007 at 04:24 PM. Reason: removed private information

 

 
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg