Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Default Will upgrading in the future wipe out changes made to the Classic template?

Hello all,

I'm new to the Zen Cart, and was modding the classic template to get my site to have a custom look. I start about a week ago, and reading more into it, before I put any more work into it, should I really be starting from copying the "template_default" template and making my own, or is modding the "Classic" template ok in terms of future upgrades. I had some nasty surprises in my early days with phpBB, and hope to avoid the same in the future.

Also, I just tried copying and modding the "template_default" to create a new skin.. it seems alot, LOT more difficult to work with than the classic skin, which is why I'm really hoping that sticking with the Classic skin would be ok..

Sorry for my n00bish-ness folks.. thanks in advance!

~MMN Maniac

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Will upgrading in the future wipe out changes made to the Classic template?

you will want to start from scratch using the default,
    classic is kinda buggy as it was made backwards compatible,

but there is a very good chance that upgrading in the future will cause issues.

as you are modifying core files
    Zen cart PCI compliant Hosting

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Will upgrading in the future wipe out changes made to the Classic template?

ahh.. crap. looks like i have to start from scratch.

Well, I just started and tried making my own template, and it's much, much more difficult than modifying the "classic" template. I took careful notes of what I did to mod the classic template.. the layout with the bordered boxes is just what I was looking for - I just needed to change the colors and stuff. Now, the boxes have disappeared and I have to start from scratch...

Is there a link to a "new template" that looks like classic but is not as buggy as "classic" that I can work off from? Thanks in advance, folks!

~MMN Maniac

Plugin Contributions