Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    57
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Replacing "... more info" with a button

    Hello!

    Because I have attributes on most of my products, the buy it now button disappears for those products that DO have attributes. It is replaced with a small piece of text which says "... more info".

    This text sort of blends in with the text sitting to the left of it (product description) so I would like to replace it with a button that says "details" which makes it obvious to the customer that to get info about the product, they click on the button.

    Does anyone know how to do this?

    I found the line in my english.php file that refers to the text, but now I don't know what to do with it.


    // more info in place of buy now
    define('MORE_INFO_TEXT','... more info');


    Can anyone advise? Will provide a link if needed so you can see what I'm talking about.

    Thanks,

    Nat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Replacing "... more info" with a button

    NattyCat,

    The actual file you need to be looking at is includes/templates/template_default/templates/tpl_product_info_display.php about line #225
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    57
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Replacing "... more info" with a button

    doesn't help me much, I may as well be reading some sort of alien language. I don't have a clue what I'm supposed to do with this file.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    33,715
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Replacing "... more info" with a button

    Nat -

    You should be able to replace the text in:



    // more info in place of buy now
    define('MORE_INFO_TEXT','... more info');

    with the call to an image:



    // more info in place of buy now
    define('MORE_INFO_TEXT','<img src="relative_path/to_your/image.gif" alt="Name of Button" />');

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    57
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Replacing "... more info" with a button

    thank you - I will give it a try and let you know how it turns out...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    57
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Replacing "... more info" with a button

    do I have to give the full www.blahblah/folder/folder/image.gif path?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Replacing "... more info" with a button

    NattyCat,

    Look to the syntax in this file for "buy Now" , this is a relative path & full url not required.

    Search for 'buy now' in that file, only 2 instances one is the img statement
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    57
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Replacing "... more info" with a button

    Quote Originally Posted by Kim
    Nat -

    You should be able to replace the text in:



    // more info in place of buy now
    define('MORE_INFO_TEXT','... more info');

    with the call to an image:



    // more info in place of buy now
    define('MORE_INFO_TEXT','<img src="relative_path/to_your/image.gif" alt="Name of Button" />');

    works beautifully - thank you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    12
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Replacing "... more info" with a button

    Hi

    I made changes in English.php and worked fine until I noticed when I click ALL PRODUCTS or NEW PRODUCTS, I see BUY NOW buttons underneath the product image and at the end of description if the description is added. I tried looking into tpl_product_info_display.php but cant find a define statement. I want to do the following:

    Display "Buy Now" button instead of MORE INFO on products with attributes and otherwise but dont want it to display TWICE if I change the define statement to call the button in english.php

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    298
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Replacing "... more info" with a button

    I made changes in English.php and worked fine until I noticed when I click ALL PRODUCTS or NEW PRODUCTS, I see Quick info buttons underneath the product image and at the end of description if the description is added.

    How do i get it to Display "my button image" instead of MORE INFO text on products with attributes, but don't want it to display twice if I change the define statement to call the button in english.php

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Replace "...more info" with a Go To Product Details button
    By TamaraSFL in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3 Sep 2012, 08:20 PM
  2. "... more info" link is displayed where I want a "buy now" button
    By ballyc27 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24 Sep 2007, 05:05 PM
  3. Replacing option radio button with "Buy Now" button
    By GavCaz in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31 Aug 2007, 10:17 PM
  4. "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)
    By p m in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2 Aug 2007, 03:24 AM
  5. Force "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)
    By thechoyboy in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31 Oct 2006, 12:37 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR