Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 111
  1. #41
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    134
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    got the same problem, though it seems that the map loads above the header and leaves the map window div open and empty...


    it works fine in 1.3.2 the problem seems to be in 1.3.5 only

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    134
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    just changed in jscript_googlemapinator.php


    var map = new GMap2(document.getElementById("map"));
    to
    var map = new GMap2(document.getElementById("map1"));

    and then in define_ contact_us i changed the div id to same "map1"

    that seemed to put the map in it's window, but still left a space above header...

    i don't know much about this stuff but i got this far, for now.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    134
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    still not working properly.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    Quote Originally Posted by Woodymon View Post
    Very cool. Checking the demo it works for me in my IE6 but not Firefox 1.5.0.4. I've disabled firefox Adblock extension and demo site still does not display map (although I can see google.com connection attempts in Firefox browser bottom info/status bar). I have JavaScript enabled. I see Address and Telephone links and map copyright in box where map should appear. But no map.

    Woody
    The Latitude and Longitude in the admin / My Store has been labelled wrong. I put the co-ordinates in reverse. Where it said to put Google Maps API Longitude - this should be a positive co-ordinate, not a negative, and vice versa for the Google Maps API Latitude, it should be a negative co-ordinate and not a positive...

    Great mod tho'!

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,231
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    I have the longitude as a negative coordinate, and the latitude as a positive coordinate and the map appears fine ...

    Are you in the southern hemisphere/on the other side of the world?

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    Quote Originally Posted by Pixxi View Post
    I have the longitude as a negative coordinate, and the latitude as a positive coordinate and the map appears fine ...

    Are you in the southern hemisphere/on the other side of the world?
    Yes, Australia. I couldn't get the map to load, everything but the map. Got the co-ordinates from Google and Maporama. When everything else failed, I reversed the co-ordinates thinking 'theres no way this is going to work' but da-daa. The mod developer had a few typo's apparently in the SQL, I was also wondering if the Language defines were supposed to be around the other way...anyway, I'm happy now, but thought I'd just post an alternative solution if others may be having the same problem.

    So maybe its a Southern Hemisphere thing? I don't know...hmm interesting tho'.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,231
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    I'm not an expert on geography, but it appears from a quick bit of Googling that latitude is expressed in relation to the equator, usually suffixed by North or South, and longitude is expressed in relation to the Greenwich meridian, suffixed by East or West. Longitude is a maximum of 180 degrees east or west.

    So when you use a decimal notation for entering latitude and longitude the 'South or 'West' parts are expressed as a negative number.

    So it would seem that it really does depend on where you live in the world whether the numbers are positive or negative - although, of course, latitude would still need to be entered in the 'Latitude' box in the mod, and longitude in the 'Longitude' box in the mod.

    Clear as mud?

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    112
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    Hi,
    Quote Originally Posted by snorkpants View Post
    btw. Any suggestions for this contrib would be greatly appreciated as I've been wondering where to go next with it. One thing I'm looking at at the moment is a way interface with a reliable geocoordinate lookup site. One other way is to have an admin map that allows you to adjust the position of your entered coordinates as I've noticed that sometimes they're not as accurate as I would like.
    I would like to have several ezpages, each with their own map.

    Could you have a javascript version that you can cut and paste into an ezpage?

    Thanks
    Alan

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    112
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    Hi,
    Quote Originally Posted by firehorse View Post
    Hi,I would like to have several ezpages, each with their own map.

    Could you have a javascript version that you can cut and paste into an ezpage?

    Thanks
    Alan
    I signed up, had a look at the code and documentation
    http://www.google.com/apis/maps/documentation/

    After reading the documentation I started experimenting and this is what I came up with. Just cut and paste into an ezpage, and customize to your own requirements.

    Put your key (from the signup) in where the abcdefg is and the rest should be self explanatory.

    I only require one tab so I deleted the second tab from the original contribution. You can easily add it back in if you want the telephone number/other details on another tab.

    Code:
    <div class="center">
    <script src="http://maps.google.com/maps?file=api&v=2&key=abcdefg"
          type="text/javascript"></script>
        <script type="text/javascript">
    
    //<![CDATA[
    
    function load() {
          if (GBrowserIsCompatible()) {
            var GOOGLE_LAT = 37.4419;
            var GOOGLE_LNG = -122.1419;
            var GOOGLE_ZOOM = 13;
            var STORE_NAME_ADDRESS = "Test<br />99 Road<br />Any Town<br />Any City<br />T:999 999 999";
    
            var map = new GMap2(document.getElementById("map"));
            map.setCenter(new GLatLng(GOOGLE_LAT, GOOGLE_LNG), GOOGLE_ZOOM);
    	  map.addControl(new GMapTypeControl());
    	  map.addControl(new GSmallMapControl());
    	  map.addControl(new GOverviewMapControl());
    
    	var point = new GLatLng(GOOGLE_LAT, GOOGLE_LNG);
    	var infoTabs = [ 
    		new GInfoWindowTab("Address", STORE_NAME_ADDRESS)
                ];
    
    	var marker = new GMarker(point);
    	GEvent.addListener(marker, "click", function() { marker.openInfoWindowTabsHtml(infoTabs);});
    	map.addOverlay(marker);
    	marker.openInfoWindowTabsHtml(infoTabs);
          }
        }
    
        //]]>
        </script>
      </head>
      <body onload="load()" onunload="GUnload()">
        <div id="map" style="width: 500px; height: 300px"></div>
    </div>
    Best regards
    Alan

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    112
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Google Mapinator

    Hi,

    Many thanks to Graham (snorkpants) for the contribution otherwise I wouldn't have begun to look at this.

    But before he comes out with a version that can do different pages, my hack, and it definitely is a hack, seems to work ok with ezpages, but it doesn't when I paste it into 'contact us' (original contribution works fine though ).

    When I paste my hack into 'page 2' as a part of define pages, it works fine so I'm very puzzled on the finer details of html & zencart.

    Just my own little puzzle

    Best regards
    Alan

 

 
Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg