Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    13
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default PHPmyAdmin error?

    Hey everyone....

    Ok.... I'm trying to figure this out.... strage issue for sure....

    I have 3 different servers and I would like to move my hosting from one of these servers to my new server. I read the post and made sure to follow the steps as described. On one of my servers (that I'm currently hosting with) I created a 2 database and uploaded the newest Zencart and installed it. No issues. But when I try to import the database.... nothing... it just doesn't work. Using: phpMyAdmin 2.6.0-pl3

    On my other server (GoDaddy) server same problem! Nothing happens when I choose to import the file. I'm limited to 2,048KB on both of these servers for uploads in phpMyAdmin.


    on server number 3 - that unfortunately is really small for hosting space... I uploaded the same SQL file the exact same way and it worked awesome. Full data import... using phpMyAdmin 2.6.4-pl2 with a 51,200KB limit on uploads.

    any ideas... I'd really like to move my site and stop paying for 3 hosting services.

    thanks
    Curtis =)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    60,160
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    49

    Default Re: PHPmyAdmin error?

    You may have to do several backups of selected tables in each run, creating separate smaller files for importing later.

    The reason for failing could be the large size. It could also be MySQL version mismatches between servers.

    The 2 largest tables apart from order-related data, are:
    - admin_activity_log
    - email_history
    You may want to leave these for separate processing, or even skip them altogether if you can live without the data, which is historical anyway.

    To select individual tables, before you click "Go" to produce your backup, select the tables desired from the upper-mid-left list of tables (not the FAR left) .. you can ctrl-click to select more than one. When finished each group, select a few more, and Go again, etc... using new filenames for each batch.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    13
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: PHPmyAdmin error?

    Great point... I didn't think about that.... I'm working on that right now.

    When I try to import on the server I want to use I'm getting this error?
    import.php: Missing parameter: import_type (FAQ 2.8)
    import.php: Missing parameter: what (FAQ 2.8)

    any ideas?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    60,160
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    49

    Default Re: PHPmyAdmin error?

    No idea.
    My guess is that something's awry with the phpMyAdmin install on that server...
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.



  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    98
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Re: PHPmyAdmin error?

    Quote Originally Posted by curtiscartmell View Post
    Great point... I didn't think about that.... I'm working on that right now.

    When I try to import on the server I want to use I'm getting this error?
    import.php: Missing parameter: import_type (FAQ 2.8)
    import.php: Missing parameter: what (FAQ 2.8)

    any ideas?

    Did you ever get this figured out? I'm getting the exact same errors when I try to import my live database to my test site... not sure how to get around this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: PHPmyAdmin error?

    Hey guys sorry to bump an old tthread but im also getting the same error message. It cant be that the file is too large because each sql file is less than 1 mb. Could it be that the sql versions are different?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: PHPmyAdmin error?

    i guess i should add im trying to move this wordpress site. Just trying to move the database /sql. im not too familiar wit this, thanks

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Error: 1036 Table 'db_cache' is read only
    By namasa in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26 Jul 2006, 07:06 PM
  2. Urgent Help needed!
    By adnimas5 in forum Upgrading from 1.2 to 1.3.x
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 8 Jun 2006, 03:08 AM
  3. Installation Error - help?
    By pcny2la in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5 Jun 2006, 04:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •