Plugin Contributions

Default Shipping Different for each item

I have a customer that wants to use zen cart but has a strange shipping arrangement. Each item may have a different shipping cost. I figured that I could use the per unit module and set the shipping cost in the weight field, but here's the catch:

If someone order 2 or more items, she wants the highest shipping amount + $2.50 for each additional item.

For example, if someone orders 2 items - the first costing $8.50 to ship and the second costing $5.50 to ship, she wants me to take the $8.50 + $2.50 for the additional item.

I wish I could combine the per unit and per item methods. :)

Is there a way to do this in zen cart?

If not, can you point me to the place where I could change the code? I am a php programmer, but I figured you could point me to the correct file to change quicker than I could find it. :)

Thanks,

Cindy

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Shipping Different for each item

<rant> Geeze, clients that come up with this ridiculously complicated shipping things... </rant>

Sorry I can't help you with the code.

Plugin Contributions

It could be done ... but would take some customization to the code ...

This is not currently an available Shipping method as I do believe your client ..,. ummm ... made it up ...

But, it can be written to behave in this manner if you really need to have the custome code working in this fashion ... just depends on how much your client is willing to invest in having it customized ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...