Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Integrating ZenCart With My Design ??

Hello all,

I'm new to the community but after a bit of research I decided to go with zencart because it had the best reviews.

I've already designed and built the site which I need to add the shopping cart too, I'm wondering if this is a problem due to the fact I've been reading round and it seems that zencart runs from templates ?

Does this mean that I'll have to scrap my design and try to create a template to fit zencart from scratch ?

Or can I use my design and sort of customise zencart to fit in where I need it.

I'm a web developer so the PHP, XHTML, CSS, MYSql is not a problem to understand but I just thought I'd get some advise from some zencart guru's before I try to reinvent the wheel

Thanks alot
    Jack

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Integrating ZenCart With My Design ??

In general, the best approach is to make ZenCart look like your current design, or "Skin" Zencart with the design elements you currently have.

If you navigate this site, you can see that there is ZenCart, vBulletin, KnowledgeBuilder & others all brought together in an almost seameless presentation. Each runs from their own interface and that interface is designed(templated) to appear in the same style.

Attempting to run the cart from an html frontend design, while possible, will consume more of your time and effort than making ZenCart look the way you want.

When you state "it seems that zencart runs from templates", I am not positive what you mean. ZenCart is essentially a DB application, with an interface that retreives information that can be presented in any style that you have.

So I suggest that you navigate through this site and I hope that you see what I am referring to.
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

Plugin Contributions

Re: Integrating ZenCart With My Design ??

What I ment by "runs on templates" was ;