Plugin Contributions

Default What do I do now?

Hi I am a noob at zen cart, no dramas at all using html and dreamweaver, but I have installed and configured zen cart, and I have read a bit on it.

To be honest I am stuck and dont know what to do now. this is really ticking me off as I dont often get stuck, but I am at a loss and dont know where to go or what to do now. I have an online store using XLEcom and mals cart, but need more options than that can offer. Please help a stuck noob.

Plugin Contributions

Idea or Suggestion Re: What do I do now?

Hey Redsea,

I recommend reading up on how to customize Zen Cart by setting up your own template. Just go to the forum index and scroll down. Everything is categorized and with a little patience you'll find yourself in deep in no time. Basically all the documentation is available you just need to do some searching. There are also loads of downloads like better templates and great add ons to the cart.

For some more specific information first check this out:

https://www.zen-cart.com/tutorials/i...hp?article=142

And then check this out:

https://www.zen-cart.com/tutorials/index.php?article=43

The first article covers creating your own custom template so you can leave the others alone and have fun with your own. The second article explains in more detail how to specifically do what you want to do. Basically you just need to find the CSS class or id of an object, edit the stylesheet for your template and your good to go.

My recommendation is this. Read the first article covering overrides. I know it seems like a pain at first but you will be happy once you have things setup. Then, for modifying most things in your Zen site you should use the following tools:

1. Download and start using Aardvark for Firefox. http://karmatics.com/aardvark/. Its an essential tool that allows you to hover over elements on a page and see instantly the name/id/class.