Thread: layout basics

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    176
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default layout basics

    Hi,

    I see some zencarts have the leftcolumn and middle section in a whole rounded corner background. Where can you add this and some have the left column staring in from the page about 100px.?

    The number of heading bars on top of scrren how can they be changed ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,493
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: layout basics

    Post a url to your install with specific issues you want to address
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    176
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: layout basics

    I cna explain it easy enough, as my url is on my local server.
    well the default install has left column and middle or main section and right column and top headings.
    The middle main section can be changed from getting the id from page source, going to stylesheet and changing it.

    Unless there is another easier way?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    176
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default custom layout

    Hi,

    I might ask here about page layout because there is a forum on page layout.

    I found out that to change a page layout on some elements eg prod info page what you do is find the id from page source, then on stylesheet.css you can then change position and style with the id name.
    I am confused about nested id's as this ssems to be very common and require a different css syntax.

    Is this how it is with images,text,buttons on a page which appears in main area ( big middle bit). Or do i move some of these things in admin area.

    I am just findout out how to change a prod info page.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,493
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: custom layout

    Post a url to your page and what you want adjusted
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    176
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: custom layout

    My site on my pc localhost, so i can't post an url .
    I have a fairly basic question though, so just a simple example will have to do.

    I just want to know about moving things around on the layout, because I have a few elemnts (option drop down box ) in bad positions so i want to move it.

    To move things around in prod info do you just get the id in page source and use it in style sheet, is this what you do?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    26,493
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: custom layout

    NO this is not to be pasted into a stylesheet. Stylesheets only contain css information
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten
    Get Your Business Found

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    61
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: custom layout

    I am talking about a stylsheet though but stylesheets need and id or class to work from. I am wanting to alter the layout position of some items on the page as the dropdown box is in a bad position, so i need to move it up. The prod info image I want moved to center of page more etc

    Isn't this how you move things around, as someone else told this earlier for optionbox dropdown.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Southport, UK
    Posts
    4,170
    Plugin Contributions
    13

    Default Re: layout basics

    The first thing you should do is review every single option in the admin menu. Ok, you're not going to remember where everything is, but you'll find a heck of a lot of "switches"

    At the very least, view the admin > configuration options.

    Rounded corners are a bit further up the learning curve.
    The JSWeb Team
    www.JSWeb.co.uk
    PCI Compliant Host Provider (UK/IRELAND) - ZenCart Specialists

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    21,964
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: custom layout

    Yes you do get the id from view source and use it in the stylesheet. You don't just cut & paste - the syntax is different. Where you see <div id="asdf"> in the php file, you use
    #asdf { border: 2px #00aaff;} or whatever
    in the stylesheet.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •