Thread: Clickable Logo

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    22
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Clickable Logo

    I recently updated the layout of our site from using a standard logo, to using an expandable header that fills the page depending upon the screen resolution.

    however...

    now the logo (header) is not clickable. by this i mean the old style used to take you back to the home page when you clicked on the store logo, but now it does not.

    any suggestions on fixing this would be greatly appreciated.

    site can be viewed at http://www.pcsuperstore.com.au

    :)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Clickable Logo

    Hiya Crankytech,
    I think it's because you have your logo displayed as a background image..

    #logoWrapper{
    width:100%;
    background-image: url(../images/header_bg.gif);
    background-repeat: no-repeat;
    background-position:center top;
    height:125px;
    }

    You can click on your left and right logo gif images because they aren't set as a background image..
    Hope this helps to sort it out mate.
    Cheers
    Steve

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Clickable Logo

    This is because now you do not have a logo - -just a background image.

    Suggest that you create the background image as just a green beveled image and then seperately the store logo (pc superstore) as logo.gif and center it.

    It will then be a hot link
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    22
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Clickable Logo

    thanks kobra that makes perfect sense.

    i placed a line back in my header.php file that reads
    define('HEADER_LOGO_IMAGE', 'logo.gif');
    and split the logo up as you suggested, however it does not seem to work. all i end up with is the plain green bevelled background and no "pcsuperstore" overlaying it. is there another place i have to reference the placement of the logo?
    sorry for the noob questions but I am slowly grasping the concept of this great program.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Clickable Logo

    Looks like you put it back to what it was.....

    you currently have these s/templates/pcsuperstyle/images/logo-left.gif & right and these are links - so you need to determine where these are in the code and why they link....

    What I posted works but there are other ways to do this also with the background image and this is by providing a image map that is linked
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    22
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Clickable Logo

    Thanks kobra.

    I found where the logo-left and right files were being referenced in the "tpl_header.php" file. the entry looks like this.

    <div id="logoWrapper">
    <div id="logo">
    <div class="back"><?php echo '<a href="' . HTTP_SERVER . DIR_WS_CATALOG . '">' .

    zen_image($template->get_template_dir(HEADER_LOGO_IMAGE_LEFT, DIR_WS_TEMPLATE, $current_page_base,'images'). '/' .

    HEADER_LOGO_IMAGE_LEFT, HEADER_ALT_TEXT_LEFT) . '</a>'; ?></div>

    <div class="forward"><?php echo '<a href="' . HTTP_SERVER . DIR_WS_CATALOG . '">' .

    zen_image($template->get_template_dir(HEADER_LOGO_IMAGE_RIGHT, DIR_WS_TEMPLATE, $current_page_base,'images'). '/' .

    HEADER_LOGO_IMAGE_RIGHT, HEADER_ALT_TEXT_RIGHT) . '</a>'; ?></div>
    </div>
    so is stuck in a section in between the two left and right logo sections that looked like this

    <div class="back"><?php echo '<a href="' . HTTP_SERVER . DIR_WS_CATALOG . '">' .

    zen_image($template->get_template_dir(HEADER_LOGO_IMAGE, DIR_WS_TEMPLATE, $current_page_base,'images'). '/' . HEADER_LOGO_IMAGE,

    HEADER_ALT_TEXT) . '</a>'; ?></div>
    which FIXED the clickable function thank you very much kobra!

    however...

    i want the logo in the center of the screen, not the left, so i changed the "div class="back"" to "div class="center"" in the hope that this would do what i wanted. it DID center the logo, but it also pushed the logo-right.gif down onto the next line.

    at this point i have headbutted the keyboard and changed things back to how they were.

    while i would *like* it to work, if it is going to be too much trouble i am happy to leave it.

    thanks again.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Clickable Logo

    Leave the class as back and then in the stylesheet find seperate this:

    Code:
    #logo {
            text-align: center;
            }
    Also check the width of your logo image and insure that it is only the width that is required to contain it - with no extra width
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Logo link - how can I make clickable space larger?
    By Kenichi in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27 Apr 2010, 07:33 AM
  2. Make header clickable
    By iwantone in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25 Feb 2010, 06:57 PM
  3. Header logo clickable to another site
    By monkeytastic in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29 Mar 2009, 12:09 PM
  4. Trust Logo, SSL Logo and Auth Net Logo
    By MagicMan in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28 Jan 2009, 06:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR