Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Default 1.3.8 version not allowing me the upgrade option!

Hello,

I am very new to Zen and I have 1.3.7. I tried to upgrade tonight to 1.3.8 but I am not getting the option to upgrade. The install screen wants to create a new database.

Why is Zen not seeing my current database?

Default Re: 1.3.8 version not allowing me the upgrade option!

Did you change the database? You need to create a new database, in cpanel (or whatever you are using) restore your old database to the new database. To do this in cpanel, you need to rename the backup file so that it corresponds with the new database name. Example: backed up database zc = zc.zip new database = zcnew ... So you would rename zc.zip to zcnew.zip. Then restore it.

Then, you have to tell Zen Cart that there is a new database. Edit the configure.php in admin/includes and includes. You will find your database in there.

Oh yeah, don't forget to assign your user to the new database in cpanel.

Hopefully, that will do the trick and you can upgrade your database.

Plugin Contributions

I have not made any changes to the database or the database name. I use Hostmonster for my web provider and did the original install in November from an install icon in my cpanel provided by Hostmonster. My database name was automatically created at that time.

Plugin Contributions

the tech guy had me remove the entire new database and import my saved database. Now, however, I cannot even sign in. Still waiting on help for that one

Yea, I did my install from Fantastico in cPanel as well. Unfortunately, there is no way to upgrade that is quite that simple! :)

There is no simple way to do this. It took me about four hours to do the whole upgrade. But, I had a ton of changes that I had to merge. It should take less time with a standard zen cart install.

See my instructions above, and it should fix your problems. You must create a new database to update.