Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    119
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Opening Store - clear the database?

    I'm planning on opening a store soon and wanted to know what would be the best way to start with a fresh database (and order #1 as opposed to all the tests I ran).

    Should I start a new database?
    In order to do this I just have to change the config files to connect to the new database right?
    Do I need to run the zcinstall again - upgrade database?
    Also could I make sure this database is fine by just creating a customer account? Or is it advisable to at least run one order through the new database?

    Changing the database doesn't affect my settings in admin does it?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    33,823
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Opening Store - clear the database?

    Changing the database doesn't affect my settings in admin does it?
    Yes it would, you would need to reset everything (including your products) you have done through the admin if you change DBs.

    Exactly what are you wanting to "clean out"?
    Please do not PM for support issues: a private solution doesn't benefit the community.

    Be careful with unsolicited advice via email or PM - Make sure the person you are talking to is a reliable source.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    119
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Opening Store - clear the database?

    I would like to clear all orders and start from #0 again.
    Also to clear products sold.
    Is there an easy way to do this?

    There's probably a way to just clear that info but I don't know my way around databases that well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    289
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Opening Store - clear the database?

    Hi there
    You would need to empty all tables that start with orders_* using phpmyadmin or similar. That should then restart your orders at "1". However doing this it would also be best to remove all of your test customers again empty all tables starting with customers_* and the table address_book. Note that yoor tables might also have a prefix of zen_. And before your start make a backup you can do this from your cpanel or you can install a contribution from zen-cart.com for this.
    Wolf Skafte-Zauss
    http://e-commerce-pros.com
    Tools for E-commerce Professionals

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Austin, Texas, US
    Posts
    215
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Opening Store - clear the database?

    I think there is a tool in the admin interface for this? Under Tools > Store Manager, there are some options such as "Reset ALL Products Ordered" and "reset current order ID".

    Maybe this would be easier to accomplish what you need?
    This message brought to you by Jac.
    Happily developing sites with Zen Cart since 2003.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    33
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Opening Store - clear the database?

    I know this is an old post,
    But I need to reset my "counter for items sold" , how do i do this with out effecting the orders sold in my customers files. especially orders not yet downloaded by my customers. I need to do this for account keeping reasons.

    Thanks in advance for any help

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Help! Updatated Database ok in admin but not in store
    By milobloom in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6 Jun 2007, 12:08 AM
  2. Script cant seem to find mysql database
    By beasleybub in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1 Nov 2006, 04:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •