Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    270
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Renaming Admin folder

    When I rename the admin folder, do I have to rename the admin table (or admin_ xx other tables) as well? Or do I just modify the config files?
    Tx
    P.s. must the new folder be in lower class letters only? Does the renaming affect add ons like Admin Profiles etc.?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,363
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Renaming Admin folder

    What instructions are you following for renaming your admin folder?
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    270
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Renaming Admin folder

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    What instructions are you following for renaming your admin folder?
    I made these changes in Mynewfolder/include:

    // NOTE: be sure to leave the trailing '/' at the end of these lines if you make changes!
    // * DIR_WS_* = Webserver directories (virtual/URL)
    // these paths are relative to top of your webspace ... (ie: under the public_html or httpdocs folder)
    define('DIR_WS_ADMIN', '/Mynewfolderhere/');
    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG', '/');
    define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_ADMIN', '/Mynewfolderhere/');
    define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', '/');

    define('DIR_WS_IMAGES', 'images/');
    define('DIR_WS_ICONS', DIR_WS_IMAGES . 'icons/');
    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG_IMAGES', HTTP_CATALOG_SERVER . DIR_WS_CATALOG . 'images/');
    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG_TEMPLATE', HTTP_CATALOG_SERVER . DIR_WS_CATALOG . 'includes/templates/');
    define('DIR_WS_INCLUDES', 'includes/');
    define('DIR_WS_BOXES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'boxes/');
    define('DIR_WS_FUNCTIONS', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'functions/');
    define('DIR_WS_CLASSES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'classes/');
    define('DIR_WS_MODULES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'modules/');
    define('DIR_WS_LANGUAGES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'languages/');
    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG_LANGUAGES', HTTP_CATALOG_SERVER . DIR_WS_CATALOG . 'includes/languages/');

    // * DIR_FS_* = Filesystem directories (local/physical)
    //the following path is a COMPLETE path to your Zen Cart files. eg: /var/www/vhost/accountname/public_html/store/
    define('DIR_FS_ADMIN', '/var/www/domains/store.annron.com/docs/Mynewfolderhere/');

    As I could not get to "Admin" I also changed the table name to be Mynewfolderhere

    Well I still cannot open it, so I was wondering what I forget to do...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,363
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Renaming Admin folder

    No, the table name doesn't change.

    Only the folder name (usually changed via FTP), and the references *to* the folder name in the configure.php file.

    What exactly do you mean by 'could not get to "Admin"' ?
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    7,174
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Renaming Admin folder

    There's no need to change any table names.

    You need to change any reference to /admin/ to /mynewadminname/ in mynewadminname/includes/configure.php. That should do it.
    Mary Ellen
    I came; I saw; I Zenned
    Taking over the world... one website at a time
    Make sure brain is engaged before putting mouth in gear... or fingers to keyboard.

    Holzheimer
    Fan Odyssey

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    270
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Renaming Admin folder

    I got it working now! I just dump the database and uploaded it again from my laptop. I don't remember the message -- it was inside the dark green strip, something about there is no admin table; that was the reason I renamed the admin table...
    well all is well for now anyway. Thanks !

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    7,174
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Renaming Admin folder

    I'm glad you got it sorted. I renamed the admin of both sites in my sig and never renamed a single table.
    Mary Ellen
    I came; I saw; I Zenned
    Taking over the world... one website at a time
    Make sure brain is engaged before putting mouth in gear... or fingers to keyboard.

    Holzheimer
    Fan Odyssey

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    11
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Renaming Admin folder

    I'm having real pooh with this as well. if I rename the admin folder to anything other than admin if get an error

    If I leave it as admin I get the same red warning message as those above saying I need to rename the folder.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    431
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Renaming Admin folder

    Quote Originally Posted by 100degrees View Post
    I'm having real pooh with this as well. if I rename the admin folder to anything other than admin if get an error

    If I leave it as admin I get the same red warning message as those above saying I need to rename the folder.
    You will need to edit your admin configure.php

    instructions here:

    https://www.zen-cart.com/tutorials/index.php?article=33

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Re-Renaming Admin Folder
    By Green333 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23 Mar 2010, 02:13 PM
  2. Renaming ADMIN folder?
    By kenny724 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13 Feb 2010, 05:02 PM
  3. Renaming Admin Folder
    By bgroup99 in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 12 Nov 2009, 12:13 AM
  4. Renaming admin folder
    By Harvezter in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18 Sep 2009, 05:21 PM
  5. renaming admin folder
    By pcdesigns in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10 Jun 2008, 08:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR